Mystery House



Faux Pork Tonkatsu

Yep, I just made that up.  There’s no such thing.

I was craving pork tonkatsu.  I had half a napa cabbage left, and that seemed like the perfect thing to go with it.  One small problem, though:  I didn’t think I had quite enough panko left to bread two chops.  And then there was the grease.  I just wasn’t in the mood to look at a pan full of grease.  (What does come over me sometimes?)  So I decided to deconstruct pork tonkatsu and make dinner out of its essential elements.

That would be pork.

MRC Pork Salted and Peppered

There it is, thinly sliced and sprinkled with salt and pepper.  I used boneless chops.

Panko and Japanese tonkatsu sauce.  From Japan.  By way of my favorite Korean-Japanese grocer.

Panko and Sauce

Cabbage.

MRC Napa Salad

Shredded and tossed with rice vinegar, mirin, sugar and sesame oil.  With peanuts and scallions for crunch and heat.  I measured nothing, so I can’t tell you how much of what — just fiddle with it until it tastes the way you want it to.

I toasted a bit of panko in a skillet with a teensy tiny bit of oil.  This goes fast.  Panko toasts beautifully.

Toasted Panko

Then it’s time for the pork.  Stir fry it.  Dump it on plates, sprinkle it with the toasted panko, and drizzle on some tonkatsu sauce.

MRC Faux Pork Tonkatsu

That’s it.  That’s all there is.  Fast and easy, and pretty darn good.  Not as decadent as real tonkatsu, but every now and then I want something that isn’t decadent.  Really.  It happens.  That moment could even come back around in your lifetime.  Like Halley’s Comet.

 


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    You make the most intriguing foods!

    Posted 15 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    Boy, does that look good.

    Posted 15 years, 9 months ago
  3. * deb says:

    I can smell it from here!!

    Posted 15 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Guinifer says:

    My husband loves it when I describe what you’ve cooked up and posted here.

    Posted 15 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Guinifer says:

    My husband loves it when I describe what you’ve cooked up and posted here.

    Posted 15 years, 9 months ago
  6. * bezzie says:

    It looks delicious. And if I ever become a trucker Pork Tonkatsu is going to be my CB handle.

    Posted 15 years, 9 months ago
  7. * kitkatknit says:

    You are brilliant!!! And as usual you’ve made me very hungry. I must remember to eat first, then read your blog.

    Posted 15 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.