Mystery House



Long, Long Ago…

Things seem to happen slowly sometimes, but then you look up and realize everything’s actually gone very quickly.  Like the way a snake appears to move not at all as it sneaks up on its prey, and then strikes so fast you aren’t sure you truly saw it.  That’s what happened to me.  I didn’t intend to do this.  Never, never intended it.

But here I am with a new master, one whose superior teaching lured me from what I knew, from what I always thought was right.  “Hello,” she said.  “I am Darth Hook.  I think we’ll enjoy getting to know each other.” And I was lost.  I’m on the Dark Side now.

Oh, I haven’t lost my Jedi knitting skills.  I use them every single day, faithfully.  But this — I’m doing this, too.  There was just one at first.  One innocent, small thing.

I did it just to see what it would feel like.  What harm could there be in that?  But then I made another.  You know, to try a different yarn.  And, I admit, to see if I could improve my skills.  Learn the pattern.  Come to terms with using a hook instead of two needles.

Well, it’s mortifying to admit my weakness, but I couldn’t stop.  It was one after the other, deep purple stars clinging to each other.  Curled like dead, drying spiders.

Darth Hook smiled her inscrutable smile when she saw them, and said, “You’re learning well.  And there is much more.  Come with me, and I’ll show you.  There are even books.”

What could I do?  I mean, there are books here, and yarn, and what everyone says is true.

My purple stars go off into infinity now, and I fear for what the future will bring.  You see, the hook is beginning to feel more natural in my hand.  I’ve memorized the pattern.  And I knew, definitively, I had crossed a threshold from which there would be no return when I made the purchase of a book of stitches.  My master says it won’t be long before I learn them.  And then what?

Diary entry of Darth Mysterious, formerly known as Bunnington Skywalker

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Guinifer says:

    Evil. Pure evil.

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. * bezzie says:

    It’s like a purple starfish orgy!

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Michelle says:

    Hehehe, I knew it would take much to turn you.

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
    • * mysteryhouse says:

      And you did it! :o)

      Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  4. * chris says:

    come back to the light the jedi master said. your jedi laser needles await

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
    • * mysteryhouse says:

      :o) Have no fear — there’s still a ton of knitting going on here!

      Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  5. * lisa peet says:

    Pretty! Like starfish in seaweed on the beach.

    Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

