Mystery House



An Announcement (and Some Knitting)

Wednesday!  Wednesday!  Wednesday!  Wednesday? Yes, Wednesday.  Do stop by on Wednesday.  The 27th.  The day right smack in the middle of the week.  I’ll be chatting with the Editor-in-Chief of Knitcircus, and she’s got all kinds of news to share with you.

Some of you may know that I’ve been writing for Knitcircus, and that I have them to thank for my first published pattern.  The next issue, which appears on February 1st, will be particularly exciting for me, because it includes an interview I did with Lily Chin (which you really won’t want to miss!), and another pattern.  By me.  That’s a lot of me me me, but somehow they’re able to stand it.  Well, women who have the fortitude to launch a print magazine, make it successful and then take it online are obviously quite strong, and can probably put up with a lot.  You’ll have a chance to read more about how all that happened if you stop back here on Wednesday.

And now, the knitting.  I did take a blogging break over the holidays, but not a knitting break.  There’s been lots and lots of knitting going on at Chez Mystery.  Here’s the first FO of the year:

I don’t remember exactly what date I finished it, because I don’t keep track of stuff like that.  But I’ve been wearing it for a couple of weeks already.  This is the pattern (I added the button and icord tie).  The yarn is Malabrigo worsted; the button is vintage.

This cardigan is almost done, at last:

The pattern has been nothing but trouble, but I refuse to be defeated by bad proofreading and inconsistent instructions.  (It’s described as “very challenging,” but the only reason for that is because it’s so poorly written.  I won’t bother listing the multitude of mistakes in this pattern, but here’s one example:  The instructions say to cast on 16 stitches for one of the button bands, and then provide an 11-stitch chart.  Nice.)  I’m currently sewing on the bands.  Then I’ll graft them together at the back of the neck, start sewing up the sleeves and hope nothing else is wonky.  I think I’m going to like wearing it much better than I like knitting it.  Even if I only sort of like wearing it, that will be an improvement.

Here’s a cardigan that’s going much better.  Well written pattern.  Bonus points to designer Medrith Glover for thinking this out so completely and writing clear directions.

All I have to do is finish the cuff, weave a few ends, block and sew on buttons.  There is no seaming.  None.  She’s a genius.  I absolutely love this pattern, and I’m planning to make at least two more.  It’s a perfect, basic cardi, it goes fast, and it’s ten tons of fun to knit.

Just started another cardigan.  This one’s for the class I’m teaching (which is called, of course, “Cardigans”).  Because a girl just can’t have too many cardigans.  So far, so good:

It’s a top-down raglan.  I’m liking this method of construction very much.  Check out the pattern.  I’m not sure why more people haven’t knit this one.  It’s nicely designed, and flattering to lots of different shapes and sizes.  The yarn is Galway worsted.  Very nice.  First time using it.  Quite happy so far.  Tons of yardage for the money, and the quality is good.

Oh dear.  I’m in a color rut, aren’t I?  There are quite a few projects going that I didn’t photograph today (enough is enough).  Let’s see if I’m doing any better there:  Another cardigan, variegated turquoise and tan.  Lace shawl, camel.  Lace shawl, gold.  Lace shawl, black.  Scarf, black.  Lace scarf, blue…hmm.  Anyone else in a color rut?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Not even remotely. My colors are all over the place right now.

    Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  2. * rudeek says:

    I’ve marked you on ical for Wednesday. I can’t wait!

    You’ve done an amazing amount of knitting. I like top down raglan shaping. It’s very flattering on my body and it makes for some easy knitting.

    I don’t think you’re in a color rut. Maybe it just feels that way to you. I am making a shawl in a natural color, but it’s going to be died after knitting. That should be fun.

    Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  3. * del says:

    Congrats on the patterns! I’ll be sure and stop by Wednesday.

    I’ll have to check out that easy cardi — bad directions on that other one? No thanks! (I thought for sure it would be from Vogue Knitting!)

    Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Connie says:

    I love your projects. I have the pattern for the circumnavigated cardigan but have not gotten around to starting it. My favorite cardigans so far are from Chicknits. I have made several of hers. I love blue but have a pretty red waiting in the closet. I am working on an oatmeal sweater for dh – 1 sleeve done (had to add an extra 4 inches) – and am working around and around on the body. It will take me a while but is great TV knitting.

    Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    It’s a pretty sweater, but I’ve come to hate shawl collars. They never sit right for me.

    Can’t wait to see you at KC!

    Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

