Mystery House



Another Grilled Cheese Experiment

“Well, many’s the long night I’ve dreamed of cheese — toasted, mostly . . .”
— Robert Louis Stevenson, in Treasure Island

I do seem to have a thing about toasted sandwiches.  And toasted-sandwich-making contraptions.  There’s the panini maker that my in-laws gave me for Christmas a year ago:

Two Toastites:

Buried somewhere in the basement storage room is a sandwich press that’s designed to be used on a stovetop burner, and now, because my brother always gives me very, very cool gifts, I have this:

I’m in love.

Okay if you know me well, you are at this moment saying, “But she hates cats!” And yes, I do.  But Hello Kitty doesn’t count.  Hello Kitty isn’t really a cat.  She’s just Hello Kitty.  She’s all about the pink and cute and weird, and I like that.  Perhaps this is yet another sign that I should be living in Japan where nobody would think it’s odd that I think fish makes a fine breakfast, but that’s another story.  In this story, I’ve got me a Hello Kitty sandwich maker, and I’m pretty darned excited about it.  I mean, there’s a little light on her bow that turns on when you plug her in.  What’s not to like about that?

So of course I had to see if Hello Kitty could make a good grilled cheese sandwich.  We got all the ingredients ready.  (That little green blob on the right is a roasted Hatch chile.)

And fired up Hello Kitty.

Here’s another action shot:

I am pleased to report that Hello Kitty gets good and hot and will definitely cook a sandwich.  However, it seems that she prefers petite sandwiches.  The more sizable one that we stuffed in there (designed to be shared by the two of us) cooked and got nice and melty, but didn’t get crisp on the outside.  We figured it was just a bit too big.  So when it was almost done, we finished it in a pan on the stove.

Yum.  Clearly not the work of a food stylist, but delicious.  Hard to beat green chile grilled cheese with some of this summer’s tomato soup for lunch.  What sort of sandwich should I try next in Hello Kitty, do you think?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanice says:

    Cute!

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * del says:

    It’s so good to know that Hello Kitty is so much more than just a pretty face.

    What about a ham and Swiss panini?

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    I don’t even like Hello Kitty, but I like that sandwich maker.

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  4. * kmkat says:

    Mmm, grilled cheese sandwich. With green chili. Mmmm…

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  5. * rudeek says:

    Grilled Gruyere. Yum.

    Your Hello Kitty appliance is adorable.

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Ann says:

    Ohhh, Hello Kitty is so cute I would be afraid to use her – she might get dirty! But seriously that looks like a very yummy sandwich.

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  7. * bezzie says:

    Oh yum!!! Grilled cheese is the only thing we use our Foreman grill for. Hee hee. The thing is like 9 years old and still chucking out the sandwiches!

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Connie says:

    All kinds of toasted sandwiches work at our house! We use a very fancy contraption – a foil covered paver stone on top of the sandwich in the pan. 🙂

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Guinifer says:

    I’m happy with melted cheese on plain bread…..

    Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

