Mystery House



Decorations

Oh wow — my blog’s still here!

There’s been a lot to do other than blogging.  Like decorating the house.  I’m not the best at it, but I try to do a little bit more every year.  Want a tour?  Well, maybe you don’t, but Amy does.  And I want a tour of her decorations, too.  So today is our day to be all Christmasy and sparkly.  You can follow along if you like.

Starting up in the guest room, there’s my very sparkly tree.  I love these aluminum trees.  I’d have 50 of them if I had places to put them.  The guests are already gone, so I get to sit and knit by the silver tree, all by myself.

A tiny pink tree.

Heading downstairs, there’s the Very Glamourous Tinsel.  Tinsel should be over-the-top, I think, or why bother with it.

In the living room, the big tree.  Which is not silver and is made out of, well, tree.

We aren’t into designer trees, and prefer a mix of all kinds of ornaments.  I’m still hanging this one, which I made several million years ago in Campfire Girls.  I can’t believe I used to have to run around in that little blue felt vest with all the beads on it.  What happened to that thing, I wonder?  It had one giant, round, red bead right smack in the middle of the back that made leaning back in a chair impossible.

There’s this guy.  I love him, but I also wouldn’t want to piss him off.

My parents had scads of vintage German glass ornaments.  I’m still sad that many of them were lost by an evil moving company.  When evil moving companies lose your boxes, where do they go?  Anyway, I do have a few ornaments left.

The birds are especially nice.

And the mushrooms.

In the non-vintage category, we have several lovely bears.  A tree should have bears.

A few silly things are required.  (I know Amy’s going to beat me on the silly ornaments, because I know what she’s got, but this isn’t the Iron Chefettes.  It’s just a tour.  So chill.)

Christmas garlic, of course.  Also protects the tree from vampires.

Lots of boats.  Here’s a flotilla of them about to be greeted by a large robot from outer space.

Okay, enough ornaments.  If you want to see them all, you have to come over and bring cookies.  Because I haven’t gotten any cookies made yet.

On the buffet in the dining room is the creche.  It was made by an artist in Santa Fe.  There’s more Very Glamourous Tinsel in the dining room, too, but again — come over and bring cookies.

Little silver trees (all but one of which I made) on the mantel downstairs with, of course, VGT.

Ah, the village.  I adore the village.  I never thought I wanted one, but now that I have it I can’t imagine not having it.  (And I’m plotting a second village in the guest room.)  My dear friend Pat, who is blogless, gave me a wonderful set of people to remedy the fact that, except for the Fa Ra Ra guys, my cheerful little town was suffering from a lack of residents (particularly dogs).  My favorite:

I acquired a new building this year, too.

No, it doesn’t make any sense that some guy is leaving the yarn shop carrying a big statue.  I just bought him, and he doesn’t like walking on snow.  He falls down, and had to be propped up against the shop.  Ultimately, however, his home will be in the new village upstairs, which will have nice hard city streets to walk on if you’re carrying a sculpture.

Ornaments are so cheerful, aren’t they?  Even when they’re a wacky mix of this and that.  Especially when they’re a wacky mix of this and that.  So let’s see yours!  What’s up in your house for the season?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * kmkat says:

    Every tree needs to be protected from vampires, especially with the Twilight and New Moon stuff everywhere.

    Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Ann says:

    Oh, what a wonderful tour! I love your creche and the glamorous tinsel! I don’t have any cookies make yet either!

    Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  3. * rudee says:

    I love it all, but I’m partial to the very artsy and headless creche figures. Really.

    I’m deeply envious of your knitting village piece. Deeply. Like dark forest green envy, not the silly lime green variety.

    Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Amy says:

    What Rudee said. Deeply. Also of the silver trees.

    Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    LOVE IT! And growing up we had the same plastic nativity scene (next to your pink tiny tree). The back (manger) kept falling off the base though. For some reason we didn’t throw it out and it made an appearance covered in scotch tape.

    I guess it’s bad ju-ju to throw the baby Jesus in the trash huh?

    Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Lorette says:

    I love your wacky ornaments! I might need to drag out the camera and take photos of mine.

    Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  7. * lisa peet says:

    I love it all! You decorate so I don’t have to.

    Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

