Mystery House



The Iron Chefettes, Back From a Break

Maxwell w Swiss Chard Stem

Allez cuisine!

After such a long break, and after the drama of the last two battles, you’re no doubt expecting something truly amazing.  Surely Amy and I have been doing nothing but cooking cooking cooking, attempting to top our previous feats.

You could think that, but you’d be wrong.  At least as far as I’m concerned — Amy might well give me a good thrashing this week, because I kept it simple.  Really, really simple.  The food was just too good; I didn’t want to muck about with it.

The raw materials:

5 Sept 2009 CSA Box

Hot peppers, corn, sweet peppers, watermelon, canteloupe, onions, broccoli, green beans, garlic, zucchini, tomatoes, purple carrots, eggplant, cucumber, dill.  Yum.  So yum that I did virtually nothing at all with some of it.

Corn, with grilled kielbasa.

Corn w Kielbasa

Green beans, with barbecued chicken.

Beans w BBQ Chicken

See?  Nothing.  Delicious, too, but I know I’m not going to win any Iron Chefette points for such things.  Realizing I was going to be in trouble, I decided I’d better cook something.  The first Actually Cooked Thing turned out to be so good that I had to write it down so that I can make it again:

Bean Stir Fry w Cashews

Green beans, sweet Jimmy Nardello peppers, hot peppers, and chicken.  Stir fried, dressed with soy and oyster sauces, and topped with caramelized cashews.  Sounds a bit odd at first, with the sweet cashews, but it was really good.

Dill dip was another favorite.

Dill Dip w Veggies

One night, that’s all we had for dinner.  I made the dip with non-fat Greek yogurt and only a teensy bit of mayo, so this wasn’t as debauched as it may appear.  It was absolutely scrumptious with zucchini, cucumber, purple carrots and cherry tomatoes.

Purple carrots also went into coleslaw, which we had with barbecued ribs.  I do think purple is a good color for carrots.  Even so, it’s not a terribly exciting photo — less exciting even than the one of the green beans on a plate — so I’m not going to bother to show it to you.

We used up all the remaining peppers, plus the eggplant, garlic, and some very tasty tomatoes on a pizza.

Bell Pepper Eggplant Pizza
There were little cubes of chorizo on it, too.  We cooked this on the grill, and I’d have to say it was one of our best pizzas.

Next up, a cornbread salad.  This was soooooooo good, one of those perfect things that will only work in the summer when the tomatoes are tomatoes.  You can’t make this with grocery store red baseballs and expect to like it.  But if you can’t find argula and don’t happen to have basil, don’t fret.  The salad doesn’t suffer.  It’s one of those wonderfully sturdy salads that isn’t going to make a fuss if one or two ingredients are missing or different.

Cornbread Salad

One thing was needed to top off the week (which was quite a trying week in many ways):  a drink.  This is what you get if you hand a good bartender a small yellow watermelon and walk out of the room:

Watermelon Drinkie

Yes, those amazing CSA boxes have made Casa Mystery even more of a hedonistic palace than it was before, if such a thing is possible.  Much as I love autumn, I’m completely despondent that the growing season is almost over.  Only a couple more boxes to go, and the thought of an entire winter, months and months and months of winter, without Laura and Adam’s fresh produce is just too sad.  What are we going to do all winter?  And no, I can’t freeze anything else.  After my annual Tomato Soup Festival (which was preceded by the Red Sauce Festival and the Green Chile Festival), the freezer is full!

Tomato Soup 2009

I know Amy has goodies stashed away in her freezer too.  But what she’s cooked this week or what sort of baked goods she’s wearing in her hair, I don’t know.  Bracing myself…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy Rea says:

    What baked goods am I wearing in my hair? I think that might be my catchphrase from now on. Recipe, please for the chicken/beans/sweet cashews?

    Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  2. * kmkat says:

    Clearly, you need a bigger freezer 😉

    Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Guinifer says:

    What is that you are feeding Dr. E?

    Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    So I gotta ask. How was the corn this time?

    Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Annie says:

    Dang, now I’m hungry. Even though I’ve already had supper.

    Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Jeanice says:

    I, too, am wondering what you are offering to Dr. Evil. It certainly does not look like bacon or cheese.

    Posted 8 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

