Mystery House



Knitting Evidence!

I know, it seems as if I’ve been doing nothing but cooking lately.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that. I’ve been knitting, too, really I have.  I just haven’t finished very much, probably because I’m working on too many things all at once.  A row or two on this one, and a row or two on that one, and it doesn’t appear that much is happening. I’ll show you a few things anyway, just so you don’t — what is it they do with fallen knitters?  defrock?  deskein? deswatch? — me.

Justice Bag Mostly Done

I’m pretty darn close to being done with my Net Bag of Justice.  This has become a surprisingly controversial pattern at my favorite LYS.  It’s easy, but there is a silly little thing you have to do with moving the stitch marker that indicates the start of the round every other row.  That move makes the mesh swirl a bit; it also makes a lot of knitters cranky.  It is hard to remember which way you’re moving the marker, so that means a great deal of pattern-checking when you’d like to just be flying along.  I’m not as militant about it as some of the women I’ve talked to, but yeah, it’s a bit pesty.  Otherwise, I like the design, and I love the yarn.  (I have evil plans to design a market bag of my own, using more Ty Dy.)

Seraphim One More Time

There’s Seraphim, partially reincarnated.  I got halfway through the second lace chart, and realized I’d made some sort of silly mistake waaaayyyy back.  A TV watching mistake.  Me being me, I didn’t fudge, I ripped.  Ripped all the way back to a point before the lace begins, counted diligently, and started again.  The yarn is so marvelous to work with that I don’t mind knitting so much of the shawl over again.  And yes, it frogs beautifully.  I’d buy more of this in a heartbeat.  I’m going to try to get moving on this piece now, because I really do want it to wear this fall.  It’s very soft and snuggly.

Alnmouth Button Band

Last (at least of the projects I’m showing you today–there are more), I’m trying to fly through the buttonbands for the Eternal Cardigan as fast as possible.  I’m sick of these buttonbands.  Sick of this sweater.  I want it done, blocked, sewn up.  I’d rather be wearing it than knitting it, because it has dragged on way too long.  Next week, I’ll work on some buttons.  Must. Finish.

In case you’re wondering (I would be), no, it’s not possible to pick up stitches and knit the button bands directly onto the sweater.  They have to be knit bottom to top and then sewn on, because they’re encrusted with cables and bobbles and other stuff.  Plus I really think I need to add an i-cord edge, too, to give it a more finished look.  See why I’m totally over this one?

I have another sweater in progress, and one I’d like to start.  Yes, after a long hiatus (sort of), I think I’m back to making sweaters.  The screamers next door were packed off to school this morning, and it’s blissfully quiet in my neighborhood.  I’m going to go attempt to be creative.  Catch y’all later.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    Knitting?
    /faints
    I hope our little screamers across the street are gone now, too. Now all I’ll have to listen to is their chihuahuas that bark at everything (they have a “dog run” on their porch), and the adults screaming at the dogs to stop barking.
    /sigh

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * kmkat says:

    I think I just fell in love with Ty Dy cotton…

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Guinifer says:

    Yea button bands can be quite the conundrum, can’t they?

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  4. That traveling stitch sure can be pesky, but I liked the result best of the various modifications I tried. : ) One of the early test-knitters opted to ignore the traveling stitch (I think she repeated rounds 1-2 over and over without alternating placement of the double-decreases), which resulted in a different but still meshy fabric.
    Your bag really does look great in the ty-dy cotton. : )

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    The fact that it’s “encrusted” with cables and bobbles makes me shudder. Something about that word. One should only be encrusted with diamonds or barnacles. Possibly both.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Connie says:

    LOVE the projects! I was and will always be a sweater knitter first. The eternal sweater looks like quite the project. I made a mesh bag this summer too. It is amazing how stretchy the thing is!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Carrie K says:

    Ah, the Eternal sweater is the one with the interesting chart icons. That side to side looks cute.
    I keep reading your name on Ravelry as Mitzi.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Lorette says:

    That’s a lot of sweater knitting. The colors of that bag are glorious.
    And I think Mitzi has a nice ring to it… 😉

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

