Mystery House



Green Chile Eggs

Hatch 2

Glory, glory, hallelujah!  The Hatch green chile is here!

Friday was the Very Best Day of the Year at my grocery store.  The one day each year when green chiles arrive from Hatch, New Mexico.

Almost makes me cry, and not because the chiles are hot.  (Which they are, beautifully so.)  I used to live in the Mesilla Valley, about thirty miles from where these chiles are grown.  Best chiles on earth.  They look like Anaheims, but they’re a million times more flavorful, and they only grow in that particular part of New Mexico.  The whole valley is fragrant from the chiles this time of year.  Can you tell I miss it a wee bit?

Hatch 1

It’s always a happy surprise when I see them in the store here — the produce manager is lucky I don’t start dancing and singing, frankly.  This time, I quickly loaded up bags with about nine pounds of chiles.  Not much, really, once they’re roasted.

Roasting is simple, even if you’re not at the Hatch festival and don’t have access to one of the chile roasting guys.

Lay them out on a baking pan and put them under the broiler till they’re black on one side.  Flip and blacken the other side.  All there is to it.

Hatch 4

Into freezer bags they go.

Hatch 5

Now what, you ask?

Well, New Mexicans put green chile in everything.  Seriously.  Potato salad, mayo for sandwiches, burgers, stew…you name it, somewhere in the state of New Mexico there’s a recipe that includes chile.  Here’s an easy one:  Miss T’s Green Chile Eggs.

Pretty Eggs

Are those not the most beautiful eggs?  My friend Sete has an egg connection, and gets them from a farm once a month.  She hooked me up.  Thanks, Sete!

So.  Crack however many eggs you normally crack for scrambled eggs and whip them up with a little cream, about a tablespoon per egg.  Either half & half or heavy, depending on how decadent you’re feeling.  I was celebrating Chile Day, so heavy cream it was.

Put on gloves.  These chiles are not to be trifled with.  Peel off the blackened skin and chop the chile.  You’ll need maybe half of one.  The rest can go in the fridge for future chile adventures.  Smells incredible, doesn’t it?

Saute the chile in butter, and when it’s all nice and sizzly, turn the heat down.  Pour in the eggs, and dot them with cream cheese.

Hatch 6

Slowly scramble.  Slowly! Your husband should be tapping his foot in the dining room, wondering when the hell the eggs are going to be done — that slow.  The cream cheese will melt and vanish into the eggs.  Yes, heavy cream and cream cheese, plus incredibly rich eggs from good old-fashioned bug-fed chickens.  Doesn’t get much more wicked than that.

Turn off the flame when the eggs are just this side of being done.  They’ll sit in the hot pan for a moment while you spread jelly on English muffins, and then they’ll be perfect.

Hatch 7

Long live the Hatch green chiles!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * deb says:

    Stop!! Do chickens really eat bug?? Today I was at the grocery store and I saw a carton of egss that was marked “vegetarian fed” and they were $0.40 cents more than the other eggs. I immediately called my girlfriend and started ranting about “What kind of idiots do they think we are? Chickens eat grain! What fool would pay more for a carton that proudly pronounces that obvious? When was the last time you saw a chicken sit down ans eat a filet?” Now I read from you that chickens eat BUGS????

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * bezzie says:

    Yum!!!!! Sounds divine! That’s why I hate being a nomad–latching onto local food only to fall in love and later have to part from it…

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * kmkat says:

    Miss T’s Green Chile Eggs for my breakfast tomorrow. Yay!
    I happen to have several packages of roasted Hatch green chiles in my freezer. Back before I was a knitblogger I used to frequent the Car Talk bulletin board and made many friends there. One was a guy who lived in NM, and he sent me a 10-pound bag of Hatch green chiles.
    Farm-raised, bug-fed eggs? Check.
    Hatch green chiles? Check.
    Cream or half & half? How about 2% milk? Check.
    Cream cheese? Check.
    Houston, we have a go…

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Cheryl S. says:

    Yum! I was so sad to have missed the Hatch chile roastings that they did here, since I was out of town. 😦

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Lorette says:

    Oh, yum. We don’t get those here, but the farmers market has a pepper stand this time of year. One side is “mild” the other side “hot”, and they have about 2 dozen varieties of lovely, lovely peppers. I always bring home bags of them.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Guinifer says:

    That all looks simply lethal.
    Make sure you tell Deb they also eat a lot of gravel to digest the bugs! (Also, do you think Deb knows what they do to supplement that non-organic chicken feed? ewww!)
    LOL!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Carrie K says:

    I really really miss my NM green chili. I can’t duplicate their recipe. 😦

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Lisa says:

    Mmmm! Last time I was in NM, which was 1998, I bought a 10-pound bag of Hatch chiles that a 12-year-old kid roasted in a big hopper on the side of the road. Somehow they made it back to the east coast still frozen, even with an extra hour’s layover — and we ate them for months. That made my mouth water.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

