Mystery House



Southern Reading Challenge: Third Review

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

190px-Mockingbirdfirst Image from Wikipedia

No, I’m not really going to review To Kill a Mockingbird.  It needs no more reviews.  I’ll just say that after four? five? six? readings, it remains one of my very favorite books.  Every time I’ve revisited it, different things have jumped out at me, perhaps because of who I was at each particular moment.

My favorite image this time around?  I have only two words to say:  ham costume.

If you haven’t read it, then you shouldn’t be fooling around on the internet.  You should be making a mad dash to the bookstore or library.  Off you go, now.

My Southerness rating:  10 out of 10.  All the Southern.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Heh. Maybe I’ll just cut and paste your review, since I’m reading this right now!

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  2. * deb says:

    Do you know that I just read it for the first.time.ever last summer? Sad, really, just so sad!!

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Lorette says:

    That is certainly one of the best books of all time. I think I was still in grade school when I first read it. I never really thought about it until now, but that was her only published novel.

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Guinifer says:

    Gosh, I read it so long ago I think I might need to read it again!

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Jeanice says:

    You are so right. One of my favorite books ever. And the connection between her and Truman Capote (another favorite) is awesome.

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  6. * kitkatknit says:

    I’ve read the book probably 10 times and seen the movie? I lost count a long time ago. Thanks for the reminder. Now a big decision. Do I watch it tonight or pick the book up again! And that ham costume? Still laughing! (at the costume, not what follows)

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

