Mystery House



View

Hotel View at Dusk

That was the view from our hotel room in downtown Chicago last week.

What?  You didn’t know I was gone?  These things happen.  Anyway, we were at the top of the Chicago Sun-Times building.  The lower floors are Sun-Times, and the eight floors at the top are a very nice hotel.  Right on the river, where we could watch sightseeing boats going to and fro, and somebody taking wedding pictures on the bridge, and barges with nothing in them being pushed along.

Hotel View River 1

We could see the train tracks, too, and loved watching the Metra and the El going by.  If we weren’t scurrying around to museums, we were glued to that window. Which is why I got so much knitting done.  Exactly this much:

Chicago Vacation Knitting

That wee portion of the M.E.’s sock shall forever be known as The Great Chicago Trip Inch of Sock.  Too bad we can’t go back long enough for me to finish the rest of the sock.  I could stand that view for several months years.  Oh, who am I kidding.  I could live there, if I didn’t have to drive in the insane Chicago traffic.  I do love a city with trains.  And great restaurants, googobs of them.  I’ll tell you about one on Friday.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    No kidding. I could stare at that view forever too.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Cheryl S. says:

    Great view! I love visiting Chicago.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * deb says:

    Totally agree. My sister lived there right out of college and I often visited her when I was 1) young, 2) single, 3) foolish, and 4) young! The best time to live in Chicago I think!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Lorette says:

    Oh man, I love that city. I lived right in the city for four years of medical school, then another three up in Evanston. I wouldn’t want to live there again, but it’s just one of the best places to visit.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    Six years ago, wow, in July we were there. Oh god, the heat. Oh the heat. Not a fun trip with a 2 year old at a non-kid friendly wedding. But I’m not bitter. 😉 I remember that exact same view–but from the bottom looking up! Hee hee!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Connie says:

    Which sock pattern and size are his feet? We love Chicago!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  7. Beautiful view! I’ve never been to Chicago. Must put that on the list of must see places.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Guinifer says:

    I do love Chicago. You prettied the place up! It looks nice.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

