Mystery House



Southern Reading Challenge: Second Review

Blue Ridge, by T.R. Pearson

Sigh.  Two books finished thus far, and neither one has knocked me out. 

T.R. Pearson is an entertaining and interesting writer, but I can’t say that Blue Ridge worked very well for me.  Engaging enough while actually being read, but not at all memorable when the book was closed.  I hate to say it, but I felt as if the author was writing this novel with a bit of a sneer on his face, as if singing, I’m too sexy for my characters, too sexy for my readers.… while working on it.

Was it Southern?  Not very.  The story is split between intrigue in Virginia and intrigue in New York City, and the New York intrigue wound up being the more interesting of the two.  (Not all that wonderful, but it was better than the other one.)  It’s quite a disjointed book.  I kept expecting the two storylines to converge, or to end in a way that allowed each to give more meaning to the other, but they never did.  I love a good murder mystery, but this one was more confusing than mysterious.  It has its amusing moments, but amusing moments do not a riveting story make.

I’m not going to go on at length about it.  I’ll just sigh again, and note that my very favorite part of the book was the cover.  I absolutely love the photograph of that cuter than cute little boy in his cowboy outfit.

My verdict:  Don’t bother until you’re a huge Pearson fan, and a completist.

My Southerness rating:  2 out of 10

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    I think I missed a post somewhere. Can you tell me about the Southern Challenge?

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Carrie K says:

    If only you were sexier. You could appreciate him so much more. Or maybe then he’d appreciate you more? Something like that.
    Muddled confusion does not a compelling mystery make. I don’t think I’ll be looking for this book on the shelves.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * terri says:

    LOL!
    I took the book out from the library & read the first two chapters and knew his style was not for me.
    He writes in the long drawn out way of a Southern story teller that just drives me insane.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

