Mystery House



Why Am I Starting a Sweater?

My current knitting roster includes four big lace shawls, a pair of socks, two design projects, a secret gift project, and the final sleeve of the Eternal Cardigan.  I need to start a tablerunner very soon, too, for a wedding gift that’s already late.

Obviously, I need to start another sweater, too.

I’ve been salivating over Medrith Glover’s Circumnavigated Cardigan for years.  Plotting, scheming, thinking about yarn.  All of a sudden, I decided to just go ahead and start it.  With — get this — yarn from my stash.  Stash yarn!  Imagine!  Me!  Doing such a thing!

Yes, lurking in one of my bins was approximately 1700 yards of Brown Sheep I purchased at Depth of Field so many years ago that I have no recollection why I bought so much or what the heck I thought I was going to do with it.

Here it is, looking very smug.  Taunting the other long-term residents of the stash.  I’m out and you’re not, nanny nanny boo boo.

Circumnavigated Caston

The light orange you’re seeing is a provisional cast on.  This took what seemed like forever to cast on, because you start with all the body stitches plus the pocket lining stitches.  And even though the first who-knows-how-many rows take a long time to knit, I’m enjoying the pattern.  It’s genius.  No finishing, other than weaving in ends and sewing on buttons.  Seriously, no seaming whatsoever.  It’s a cardigan, but it’s all knit in one piece.

In fact, it’s such a cool pattern that I’m already plotting the next one.  With yarn that is not in my stash.  Yarn that has not yet been purchased.  Yarn that will be ordered especially to go with some knockout vintage buttons I have.  Bwaa ha haaaa.…

So, you know the answer to the question now, right?  That’s why I’m starting a sweater.  So I can buy yarn and start another sweater.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Ann says:

    Yay! You started! That means I better get going and start mine too.

    Posted 8 years ago
  2. * Cheryl S. says:

    What an interesting pattern!

    Posted 8 years ago
  3. * Amy says:

    Brilliant, really.
    But you ought to teach that yarn some manners.

    Posted 8 years ago
  4. * kmkat says:

    No finishing? No seaming? I am all over that one.

    Posted 8 years ago
  5. * deb says:

    That is SUCH a good plan!

    Posted 8 years ago
  6. * bezzie says:

    I like that logic…hahahaha!

    Posted 8 years ago
  7. Stick with it girl …. I like your plans. There’s always a good reason to buy more yarn tho isn’t there? There’s that hole you’ve left in your stash.

    Posted 8 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

