Mystery House



Southern Reading Challenge: Book Two…..Plus Some Odds & Ends.

I finished City of Refuge last night, and I’ll post my review, um, soon.  In the meantime, have a peek at the book I just started, T. R. Pearson’s Blue Ridge.

I’m only about two pages in, so I have nothing to say about it so far, except that Mr. Pearson is always engaging.  And there’s a dog.  Dogs are good.

Here’s a look at a bit of what we’ve been up to.  Blechy old depressing color on top, shiny new happy marshmallow fluffy color on bottom:

Old Color New Color on House

Yes, the rest of it will get painted, including the trim.  Fear not.

Knittingwise, I’ve been working on easy things.  A new secret design with this:

Sitar

Nashua Sitar, in Gypsy Wagon.  Lovely stuff.  Cheerful.  I have the most gorgeous handmade beads to go with it.  You can see those another day; I’m not taking out the camera again.  However, the thing that the yarn is sitting on is a very subtle sort of clue.

And I’ve been knitting what seems like several thousand miles of Mandala edging:

Mandala Edging

It’s fun, though, because the edging pattern is easy to memorize and I can just cruise along while watching TV.  I tried working on Honeybee, but that required a wee bit more attention than a person who’d been painting a house could give it, and I kept making boo-boos.  And I’m on the easy part, which is normally…easy.  Painting houses really is not good.

Off now to continue dealing with my list of one million and one Things Which Must Be Done.  (I’ve heard rumors that some people have lazy, relaxing summers.  Not here.)  I shall endeavor to reappear soon.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * kmkat says:

    You are knitting the Nashua yarn into a serving dish? or an ashtray? Weird… 😉

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Guinifer says:

    Is that a lifeline I see in there? Smarty!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * marylou says:

    One of these years, I’m going to have a lazy relaxing summer. Keep repeating it, and maybe it will work. Hasn’t for me yet!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    Gypsies, tramps and theives!!! Greaaaat. Darn your yarn!!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Cheryl S. says:

    Sigh. I have some house painting to do, too. But I need to get some outdoor primer first. I am not looking forward to it!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  6. * lisa says:

    Our house is BO-ring and white. But I painted the front steps (porch and the ones on the hill) purple! (“wild grapes” from behr). Along w/ the lawn chairs. Really I’d like to paint the house a wild color sometime, but it’s siding. I’m still working on the idea of a fuschia wall… LOVELY yarn! Is that an ASHTRAY????

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Carrie K says:

    Summers are SUPPOSED to be lazy but seldom are.
    The lacy edging looks elegant.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

