Mystery House



Southern Reading Challenge: Book One

I’m into City of Refuge by Tom Piazza, and I like it.  Not entirely without reservation, but I do like it very much.  I think he could have worked a wee bit harder to avoid stereotypes with a few of the characters.  The bigger thing, however, is that I think his journalistic background tends to get in the way of the emotion of the story.  He seems to have a need to sum things up in the way that a reporter tells a story, and because of that misses opportunities to let the power of imagery carry the mood and emotion.  I’m not really feeling the water, the horror, the confusion, as deeply as I could be. The book would benefit from a touch of artistry.

236px-Hurricane_Katrina_August_28_2005_NASA
Photo courtesy of Wikipeda.org

Nevertheless, it’s a good tale with characters who grabbed my attention right away, and it’s certainly one of the better things I’ve read lately.  I’m finding snippets of time to read at the end of long days of yardwork this week.  How far along am I with the book?  Well, the Superdome is filling up with people and poop.  That far.

Speaking of that yardwork, if I wind up not posting a recipe this week, it’s because all we’re consuming is sandwiches and gatorade.  Back soon, I hope…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Maybe you could post fancy sandwich recipes. 😉

    Posted 7 years, 12 months ago
  2. * Guinifer says:

    I was busy putting together some Hot Italians for my boys to heat up tonight before Lacrosse practice. I’m heading up to the High School game.

    Posted 7 years, 12 months ago
  3. * bezzie says:

    Maybe you can see if Dr. Evil will let you tape the book to his back and you can read while you work. Of course that involves him holding still and doesn’t solve the whole page-turning problem…hmmm….

    Posted 7 years, 12 months ago
  4. * Carrie K says:

    City of Refuge sounds interesting, what a horrible debacle Katrina was.
    PB&J?

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

