Mystery House



This Will Save You a Trip to Vancouver

Japa Dogs!

They’re legendary, and as far as I can determine, only available at one little joint.  Since we won’t be in Vancouver anytime soon, we decided to take the list of ingredients (I found a translation somewhere) and make our own.  This time around, we tried the Terimayo.

I’m not big on hotdogs, for the most part.  Neither is the M.E.  The occasional chili dog at the State Fair, maybe, or a corndog, but that’s about it.  Just a plain hotdog on a bun with mustard?  Blech.  And regular grocery store hotdogs?  Double, triple blech.  But there is one hotdog on the market that we do like on proper hotdog occasions:  Beeler’s.

Uncured, unblechy, well worth eating.  Worthy of the glory that is the Japa Dog.  And glorious it is.

I made teriyaki sauce first, since it needs to simmer for awhile.  I used this recipe, minus the ginger (because I didn’t bother reading the recipe before going to the store, of course, and therefore had no ginger).  I cut it down to one-quarter the amount, and simmered it until it was slightly syrupy.  Delicious, even sans-ginger.

Japadog 1

On to the wasabi mayo.  Easy peasy, and I have it figured out now.  I’ve experimented with various versions, but this one was the best.  Mayo, wasabi powder, sugar, rice vinegar.  The proportions are up to you, because I’m guessing we like way more wasabi in it than most people do.  If the tops of our heads haven’t blown off, we’re not enjoying dinner.

Japadog 2

Fry up a mess of nice, sweet onions.

Japadog 3

Now cook the dogs.  While they’re browning, you can toast some buns and cut up a little nori.

Japadog 4

And then, the moment of truth arrives.  Time for the assembly of the Japa Dogs:  Bun.  Dog.  Teriyaki.  Onions.  Wasabi mayo.  Nori.  These are beautiful things, people.  Hotdogs better than they were ever meant to be.

Japadog 5

Are we going to make and devour these again?  Just watch how fast it happens.  And stand out of the way, so you don’t get hurt.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    How about chicago style dogs? Those are pretty yummy with all their extras…as long as a good dog & bun has been used

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Carrie K says:

    Hmm, that looks good. My mother is exceedingly fond of hotdogs. I’ll have to go easy on the wasabi for her though.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * deb says:

    While those do like quite yummy – I’m ashamed and embarrassed to admit that I love plain old Oscar Meyer hot dogs on plain buns slathered with yellow mustard and sauerkraut and a few onions. Will you still love me?

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    I’m kinda with Deb, except delete Oscar Meyer and replace it with Black Bear. They’re a regional weiner (hee hee).
    I don’t think I could get anyone to eat these at this house–it’s just a little TOO fusion.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  5. * mary lou says:

    Where do you get the Beeler dogs? I like the Pasture’s A Plenty dogs, but they aren’t readily available.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Guinifer says:

    I love the occasional hot dog, but these sound dee-lish.
    (Teen wants to go to school in Vancouver – so I can find these up there?)

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

