Mystery House



I Was Going to Rip Something

That was my plan this morning.  I was in a ripping mood, and thought it a perfect time to dig in the UFO bag and read some long-ignored piece of knitting its last rites.  So what am I doing instead?

Finishing this stupid cupcake.

The Stupid Cupcake

I was originally going to make a trio of these, all different flavors, for my brother’s girlfriend The Baking Attorney, because she loves all forms of cake and other sweet baked goods (she wants to start a bakery, which is a noble goal for an attorney).  I always buy acrylic yarns when I’m going to make some silly stuffed thing to sit on someone’s desk, because, well, it’s a silly stuffed thing sitting on someone’s desk.  And as you know, some acrylics are even more annoying than others.  That white stuff?  Way annoying.  Pins the meter.  Whoever designed this stuff should be deskeined, or whatever it is they do to bad yarn designers.  I thought it would look like fluffy white frosting, and it does, but it’s horrible to work with, and is quickly reminding me why this thing — without its two intended sisters — went into the UFO bag.

I’m going to finish it quickly, before I think too much about it.  The next step is to jam a deodorant cap in its little cupcake butt, stuff it, and close up the top.  Then it’s going into a box and getting shipped off for her birthday.

I should have ripped, shouldn’t I?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * marylou says:

    “Pins the meter”??

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Ann says:

    Well, if you had ripped it, then you would have had to make something else for her birthday. This way it will be done and our of your hair. And you’ll feel so good when it’s done!

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  3. * bezzie says:

    Is it LB Homespun? That’s good for non-technical knitting. Cupcake knitting? Maybe not so much.
    Three cupcakes–separated at birth. Sounds like a Lifetime/Food Network movie.

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Sounds like you should of – although if you finish that cupcake first, you’ll have plenty to take out on the ripping. 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Guinifer says:

    Gosh, it even looks annoying. Cute, but annoying.

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  6. * deb says:

    No!! I love it and love the idea that you are doing something so deplorable to you for someone you love (I hope!!). But just do the one cupcake. I don’t need one – yet!
    But I love yellow cake with chocolate icing……..

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  7. * lisa says:

    Oh, send it along with a candle, and matches!

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  8. * Carrie K says:

    Cupcakes have butts?

    Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

