Mystery House



I Wonder…

Livers 4

What are the chances that any of you are going to make this?  Not good, probably.  But the brave among you will be richly rewarded.  Yes folks, we’re talking about fried chicken livers.  You can thank me later.

The Master Engineer’s Most Excellent Fried Chicken Livers

what passes for 1 lb. chicken livers
1 c. buttermilk
salt
2 Tbsp. paprika
2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. cayenne pepper
Flour
oil for deep frying

Prep the livers, cutting off any tough stringy bits, and soak them in buttermilk for about 15 minutes while you work on other things.

Livers 1

Like okra. See?  There are healthy green things in this meal.  If you were observant, you noticed the coleslaw in the photo at the top, too.

Livers 3

Cut it the okra and dredge in cornmeal.  You won’t need egg or any other liquid since okra produces its own handy sticky stuff.

Deep fry the okra first, in 350 degree oil.  Drain it and put it in the oven to stay warm.  You did turn on the oven, didn’t you?

Now mix the dry ingredients together, drain the livers well in a colander, and dredge them in the flour mixture.

Livers 2

Fry, fry, fry!

But be careful not to fry too long.  Chicken livers will get chewy and bitter and all-around gross if you fry them too long, and then you’ll probably try to blame me when you don’t like them. No more than 3 to 4 minutes.

Drain.  Eat right away with as much hot sauce as you’d care to slather on.  And go back and turn off the oven.

Livers 5

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lisa says:

    If I cook fried chicken livers and okra, J will be my love slave for life (if he isn’t already). Thank you!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    You’re right about the chances, at least here!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    And once again there is similarity between our Friday foods, this time in cooking methods. I would make this! But you already knew that.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Lorette says:

    Hmmm. Not so much on the liver, but one of the best meals we had when we took a trip to France was chicken gizzards. If I had known what they were, I wouldn’t have ordered them, but they were yummy. They were very thinly sliced and fried, and just delicious. I really should try these, though. I adore foie gras, so this can’t be much different, right?

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  5. * kmkat says:

    Not I, said the Kat™ who hates liver of any sort. But someone might.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Ann says:

    Oh, yes, chicken livers. We used to have those all the time. I’ll have to make them again. I pan fry them. I suppose it’s an acquired taste but we do really like them! But the okra – I’ll pass on that.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  7. * bezzie says:

    I will be honest, while that looks delish. My heart belongs to fried chicken hearts. I’ve never found them sold alone (they’re always mixed with gizzards) down here. Therefore my I left my (chicken) heart(s) in Alaska!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Guinifer says:

    Is it wrong that it all looks very delicious?

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  9. * deb says:

    Maybe the okra!

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  10. * harmonyfb says:

    I hate chicken livers (I know what livers do. Not eating that.) but my god, I LOVE fried okra. In fact, you made me so hungry for it that I bought a big package when I went to the store yesterday. 🙂 Mmmmm. Maybe I’ll fry up some chicken and okra, and what else can I fry to go with? Tomatoes? That might work.

    Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

