Mystery House



The Kindness Of…

Strangers Friends

Every now and then, I have a Bad Week.  You know.  Dark boiling skies, monsters attacking from every corner, plagues, creepy emails, and people calling on the phone.  Last week was one of those weeks, and pouting seemed the only reasonable option.  Then, mid-pout, some surprising and wonderful things happened.

I won a contest on Lorette’s blog, and she sent me the most amazing yarn.  Seriously, it’s stunning.  So stunning that its stunningness defies photography.  Blue Moon Fiber Arts Silk Thread II, in Grawk.

Grawk

Thank you so very much, Lorette!  I see some gorgeous lace in my future.  And this could not be a more perfect gift, because ravens have been popping up in my work lately.

I don’t have a picture of this because it hasn’t happened yet, but Amy (the only one of these lovely gift-giving women who actually knew I was having a bad week) promised me a very spicy new cookbook that’s all about Indian food.  A huge advance thank you to you, Amy!  This will be big fun for some future Friday Food.  I do love Indian food, but I don’t know enough about cooking it.

Thinking that a little knitting in good company might cheer me up, I went to my Friday afternoon knitting group, where I got a wonderful, totally out of the blue surprise.  Setembrina (who is pretending not to be knitting lace and thinks I don’t know how deeply that lace needle has sunk in already) gave me some incredibly cool stitchmarkers.

Mahjong Markers

She’d seen me wearing a bracelet made from vintage bakelite mahjong tiles, and knew I’d love them.  And I really do.  If you’ve never played mahjong, it’s a lot more fun than you probably think it is, and part of what makes it so much fun is the aesthetic of the tiles.  It’s very much a game for people, like me, who have a jones for cool objets.  Thank you very much, Setembrina!

And then there was a small gift, of sorts, from Madame Anonymous Bunny.  Every year, little cute flowers come up in the front yard.  They have the most delicate blue color, and they typically don’t last long.  I mean, one afternoon.  That’s because in years past, Madame Anonymous Bunny has appeared on the scene immediately, as if alerted on her iPhone, and chomped off their little heads.  But this year, she’s left them alone, and they’ve been spreading their pale blue cheer for several days.  Anybody know what these are?  Lookie:

Tiny Blue Flowers 1

I am grateful, Madame Bunny.  I am grateful to you all, friends old and new.  Because while it was a Bad Week, and monsters were everywhere, I can look back now from the distant vantage point that is Monday with the realization that, um…I should say something profound here, shouldn’t I?  It’s Monday.  I’m not up to profundity.  I’m just sipping tea, hanging on, and feeling lucky.  Thanks, y’all.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    You’re welcome! The book has arrived, and oh, does it look tasty.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * deb says:

    I’m sorry about your week. Hope it’s getting better. I play mahjong on my phone all the time. A-freking-ddictive. That’s all I’m sayin’!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    I’m really happy you picked Grawk because I so desperately wanted the Lenore sock yarn. I predicted you would go for Grawk. 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * kmkat says:

    I *think* those are white scilla (S. siberica). Scilla, aka Siberian squill, are usually bright blue, but there are white cultivars, too. Pretty! (although not quite as awesome as the yarn)

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Guinifer says:

    I do love the Raven yarns – and that certainly looks suitable for your lace jones.
    Sorry to hear you had a pouty week.
    (My tile favorite is Rummikub – we play it endlessly at the cabin and I love the little tiles and their little indentation that makes them like a worry-stone…)

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Ann says:

    I play Mahjong on the computer all the time – it’s one of my many time wasting when I should be doing something else tactics. Those are very cool stitch markers! Hope this week goes much better.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Lorette says:

    I’m glad you both love your Raven yarns! I can’t wait to see what you make out of that silk.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

