Mystery House



Small and Necessary Deviance

This week has been nothing but mistakes, crankiness, fixing things and brain-sucking calls to Comcast.  If I picked it up, I dropped it.  If I wrote it down, I very soon erased it.  If something seemed straightforward, it wasn’t.  And if I knit something, yeah, I probably ripped it.

Erasing

I’m hoping to make a turn back towards better things and a better mood by getting into a little bit of feel-good trouble.  So, at long last, and in complete defiance of all the unfinished projects rattling around in my knitting box (and, I admit, strewn over chairs, sofas and tables), I cast on for Honeybee.  Also here.  (No, it doesn’t have a weird pink edge.  That’s a provisional cast on with a crochet chain.)

Honeybee Cast On

And then.  With even less justification.  But with deep desire and poutiness.  I bought this kit.

I’ve bought gorgeous yarns before.  Many of them, those of you who are observant might observe.  But I have to say that this one blows most of them away.

New England Red Yarn

It glows in the photo, yet you really have to see it in person to get the depth of the color.  I saw it and worried that, as a hand-dyed work, this color might not be there if I waited two years to get around to buying it, so I threw all reasonableness to the wind and clicked.  I’m so glad I did.  And I won’t hesitate to buy from The Woolen Rabbit again.  Her work and eye for color are really top-notch.

Big skein, too.  Just as big as the one for Honeybee…

New England Red Yarn 2

I suppose I have to be good and finish that one first, don’t I?  Since I only just started it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    Kim does know her stuff when it comes to yarn. Love the color! And it reminds me that I have Woolen Rabbit yarn in my stash waiting for me to stop knitting sweaters…

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Carrie K says:

    What? What does being good have to do with casting on new projects? How can you resist that?

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Hmm, is someone ready for the colors of spring?? 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Guinifer says:

    You are almost as incorrigible as I am! (Sheesh – did I spell that right?)

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Debra says:

    I have to say, I completely agree with you! After one look at Maplewing, I instantly queued it on Rav, then purchased a skein of yarn to knit it. (Tierra di Sienna lace-garn, Wollmeise).
    It’s just too beautiful to not knit!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Kim says:

    Thank you SO much for your kind words! I am happy to read that my yarns made you smile today. 🙂
    You are going to LOVE knitting Maplewing…it’s a fun pattern!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Lorette says:

    Ahem, I might just have bought that same kit. I didn’t need it, either.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

