Mystery House



A Finished Piece

I did finish something last week.  It wasn’t knitting, though.  My MIL’s birthday is this week, and as a resident of the steamy state of Florida, she doesn’t have much use for knitted things.  But she does love her horse.

I wasn’t thinking about documenting this when I started it, so I don’t have a photo of the beginning, the very rough pencil work.  And, I admit, I was a bit terrified of it at that point and making only the most tentative marks.  See, it’s been years since I’ve done one of these.  I wasn’t actually sure I still could, but the theory was that if I made a huge mess out of it we could always run to Barnes & Noble at the last minute and get her a gift card.

This is the intended victim portrait subject:

Bonesie

Here’s the middle point:

Horse Drawing 1

I don’t remember ever working so slowly on a drawing before.  Took me most of the week, but I really did not want to screw it up.  I had some bright white illustration board to work on, and boy is that stuff nice.  Yes, I know it looks grayish in the picture, but it’s not.

Okay, here’s the finished piece:

Horse Drawing 2

A little fixative, and the M.E. wrapped it in multiple layers of tissue and plastic and bubble wrap.  Off it’s going to UPS later today.

Horse Drawing 3

I hope she likes it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Very cool!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    Wow. Just–wow.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Jeanice says:

    OMG, Miss T, What an incredible gift. MIL will be delighted. Is there no end to your talent?

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  4. * deb says:

    What DON’T you do? It’s amazing! What’s the horse’s name?

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Kayla says:

    You are a multi-talented woman!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Ann says:

    That’s just fabulous! I’m sure that she’ll love it.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Guinifer says:

    He’s (assuming it’s a “he”) gorgeous, and so is your portrait!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  8. * del says:

    And here I just thought you were a writer! That is a gorgeous drawing. I’m sure she’ll love it.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Mary Lou says:

    Nice! horses are hard to capture, it’s a beautiful portrait.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

