Mystery House



A Pressing Need for Avocado

I’ll cry if I think about how many months are left to go before any real vegetables appear on the scene.  And although I’m very aware that avocados do not grow in Minnesota and must be trucked in from faraway lands, they still have a nice green taste.  That’s what I was craving this week.  A green taste.  Not more of the brown tastes of winter.  Much as I love braises and stews and breads, ‘round about the end of February I hit a point, you know?

The point was hit, and hit hard, and I became quite convinced that I would perish in a big, ugly flaming ball and fall splat to the floor in a horrible, greasy, all-she’s-been-eating-is-brown-food spot if I didn’t get an avocado.  The M.E felt pretty much the same way, although he refrained from being quite so dramatic about it.

Know what?  We weren’t the only ones.  I found this recipe over at the Frantic Home Cook. It’s very easy and very good.  It does not taste the least bit brown.

There’s a bit of cutting up to do.  Tomatoes in the store will, of course, be baseballs painted red, but if you buy grape tomatoes you’ll be a bit happier.  A couple of snow crab clusters will do for the seafood.  Just pick it out of the shells and toss it in a bowl.  Please, I beg of you, eschew the surimi.  Real crab is worth the extra bucks.

Crab Salad 1

Oh joy and rapture, avocado!

Crab Salad 2

You know the best way to cut it up, right?  Score it while it’s still in its little dark green jacket, then scoop it out with a big spoon.

Crab Salad 3

Mix everything together with lime juice, salt and pepper.  Nothing bad will happen if you leave out the cilantro.  Which I did, because the cilantro at the store looked like it had been dragged behind a truck, all the way from wherever they grew it.  I didn’t put in the oil, either, because I actually didn’t look at the recipe after using it to pull ingredients from the fridge.  Forgot about it.  Probably wouldn’t have put it in even if I hadn’t forgotten — I don’t think it’s necessary.  I mean, this is basically guacamole with crab, and guacamole has no need for oil.  Solamente lime.

Crab Salad 4

This salad magically transforms into tacos with the simple addition of a few tortillas.  Warm them in a pan until they just start to blister, then flip and blister the other side.  (This does not count as brown, because there’s not very much of it.)

Crab Salad 5

Make tacos.

Crab Salad 6

Devour.  Give thanks to the Avocado Goddess.  Try to hang on until the local produce appears.

February Snow

Which might be never, from the look of things outdoors.  Sigh.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    Last night while reading & watching Iron Chef (always good for a little food inspiration)the secret ingredient was King Crab. I have been craving it ever since…I was going to go crab cake (more crab less cake) but now I just may go taco….

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    That sounds so very, VERY tasty.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Cheryl S. says:

    Oh, yummy!

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Amy says:

    There, there, dear. Spring will be here soon. And think of those bounteous boxes from Loon Organics…

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  5. * del says:

    Man, does that look good! I’m definitely going to have to try this. I love veggie meals.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Guinifer says:

    I am not an Avocado gal at all – now crab & grape tomatoes sound yummy.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  7. * B says:

    I LOOOOOOOVE avocado!! I eat it nearly every day!!! I’m lucky because we get a lot of produce from Mexico around these parts, so it’s a rare week when there are no good avocado here. Your recipe looks super yummy. too. 🙂 You know what’s delicious? A smoothie made of avocado and banana, so rich and filling. Makes me feel like I’m in the tropics.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Lorette says:

    Yum. That’s all I have to say.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

