Mystery House



I Really Am Making Progress With This

Blue Wad of Mandala

I know, it’s still a rumpled blue wad.  But it’s a larger rumpled blue wad.

Do you even remember what this is?  Mandala, formerly known as the GoddessKnits Anniversary Shawl.  Mandala is a much shorter name to type.  I like it.  And I think a mandala is just a lovely thing in general.  There’s a rather stunning one at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts.  I remember quite well when the monks came to make it, back in 1991.  Very, very cool.

Anyway.

After only about 25 more rows of this Mandala, I can start the edging.  At this point each row has 576 stitches.  They don’t go quickly.  However, a pleasant afternoon can be had with two or three rows of Mandala, sun coming in the living room windows, and a really good story on the CD player.

I don’t think I’m getting much sun today, thanks to an ugly snowstorm headed our way.  I’m going to be shoveling in the morning, and grumbling about it.  But I think I’ll still manage to sneak in my afternoon Mandala & Mosley as I watch all that white stuff pile up in the driveway.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Rumpled blue wad, how we have missed you! 😉

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * deb says:

    Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * B says:

    Beautiful rumpled blue wad. Mandala is a gorgeous word. I saw Tibetan monks make a sand mandala a few years back in Santa Fe. They spent days blowing sand through slim glass straws, letting the sand gather in elegant swirls. The resulting mandala was intricate, delicate, and oh so temporary. The monks allowed the public to enjoy it for 24 hours, and then they let the wind take the sand and blow it east.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

