Mystery House



Nobody Took Pictures

Perhaps we should have.  Yesterday was an occasion, after all, but not what you think.

Nope, no grunting and roaring and beer-spilling over here.  Instead, we had…

YarnBowl

Get it?

No footballs.  Just chili and cheese biscuits and

Ann's Cream Buns


outrageously good custard buns courtesy of Ann
(who also brought me very pretty Tigereye stitch markers). The recipe’s posted at that link.  I’d click it if I were you.

Tiger Eye Stitch Markers

Amy brought me the coolest coffee ever.

Obama Coffee

Isn’t that just brilliant?  I’m having some right now, and it’s fabulous.  (There may be a custard bun involved, too, but don’t tell anyone.)

Kayla (blogless, alas) somehow intuited my love of fruit butters and things with honey in them and brought this amazing gift basket.  She crocheted that doily!  Gorgeous, yes?

Crochet by Kayla w Spreads

Pat (also blogless), arrived with wine and salsa and other goodies.  The M.E. put the wine on the rack; I forgot to take it down for the photograph.  However, if you saw it you would agree that it looks quite excellent, and since we know Pat to be a lady of good taste, we’re looking forward to cracking it open.  Not with a mallet or anything, of course, so stop creating dramatic images in your mind.  We have a very nice wine opener.  Oh, never mind.

Salsa Etc

Then we all pigged out and did a lot of knitting.  Amy wove in about seventy-thousand ends on the chevron scarf she’s making for a friend.  Kayla worked on a dishcloth which features the ASL sign for “I love you.”  Pat made great progress on her Rambling Rows afghan.  Ann worked diligently on the secret test knit she’s doing for me, and I got all the way to the gusset on the M.E.’s sock.  See?  We really were knitting, not just eating.

Cannon Beach Sock Heel Turn

Nobody threw anything, tackled anybody else or did strange dances, and, blessedly, there was no need to set foot in the hellhole that is Florida.  Really, the only thing missing was millions of dollars in commercial sponsorship.  I’ll try to get that arranged before next year’s event.

Thank you, my friends, for being such gracious guests and for making the First Annual Yarn Bowl a big success!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    I went to my LYS for a Superbowl (or not) knitting party. It was great fun. I think they were actually going to have the game on in a different room for those who wanted to watch it, but I left before it started.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * kmkat says:

    There was a football game yesterday? Who knew?

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Sounds like it was a blast!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Ann says:

    I can’t believe that I forgot my camera! It was a lot of fun, and we did eat very well. And then I went home and actually did watch the s-bowl. But I knit during it and it was quality time with the husband. That’s my excuse anyway.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Amy says:

    Our pleasure, truly! So glad to have had something to entertain me with all those bloody ends.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Carrie K says:

    That sounds like a fabulous Yarn Bowl! Barack O Blend coffee. Excellent. Must. Not. Click. On. Custard Buns. Recipe……must not….

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  7. * bezzie says:

    I love the way the yarn in the first pic looks like Cheetos. Very appropriate!
    So does that coffee mean Barack is only 30% Hawaiian? Hee hee.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  8. * deb says:

    I actually got it – the Yarn Bowl thing! Not all of Florida is a hell hole. I know one teeny riny island that is particulary lovely and calling my name right now!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  9. * del says:

    That sounds like a way better idea than the game (which I only watched toward the end so I wouldn’t miss the The Office episode which followed!).

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Guinifer says:

    Sounds like fun! I had to comment to tell you we had our biggest Spring Break vacation last year in Hawaii and took our boys to Kona Joe’s! Beautiful drive, beautiful location, and beautiful Hawaiian Lady giving us our tour! She was so proud of their coffee and their business and sustainable farming model. She was so excited to tell us that they provide the coffee to the White House (even in the Bush era!) Puck tasted fresh picked papaya and mangoes there and was lost forever, and Teen tasted really good coffee and loved it. (Did you know you should keep it OUT of the freezer?)
    Also? I was in that FLA hellhole the LAST time the Superbowl was down there (I worked in Marketing for a company with an NFL sponsorship.) Tampa had limited hotel rooms so we had to stay in Orlando for a week and drive up to Tampa (like driving Mpls to St. Cloud) every day for our business meetings. We had our GPS lady speaking every language BUT English by the end of that trip.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  11. * Lorette says:

    I want to come to your house for the next Super Sunday. It looks a whole lot more fun than football.
    And I’m coveting that coffee!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  12. * Wendy says:

    I love the idea of a yarn bowl!!! and I love your bowl too!
    I nominated you for an award… check out my blog for the details!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

