Mystery House



Color Shift

I go through phases with colors.  Lately, it’s been mostly blues and purples; those are the hues I’ve gravitated to for projects.  But a change is coming, I can feel it as strongly as a drastic shift in the wind.

Brown.

You may be saying, Brown?  Ho hum. But brown is a sneaky sort of color, more interesting than it initially lets on.  It’s the hue of chocolate, tree bark, rich coffee, a perfectly seared steak, fine leather boots, caramels, cookies, and the occasional Navajo folk art chicken.

Navajo Chicken

Brown works subtle magic, insinuating itself into your consciousness without your quite realizing it’s there, and then surprising you with its depth.  It allows other colors to parade around and show off while it sits back, biding its time until you become exhausted and want nothing more than to curl up in a deep leather club chair, swaddle yourself in an afghan and sip hot cocoa.  Go ahead, try to tell me you don’t like brown.

Perhaps it was the call of that brown sweater which wants to be finished, perhaps it was a need for a sharp contrast, or maybe a desire for something classic and neutral to wear.  I don’t know.  But brown has been tempting me with its chocolatey self everywhere I go lately.

And, of course, being mere inches away from finishing my Stonington shawl — which is deep purple — I’m getting antsy to start something new.  Two very different browns immediately launched campaigns for attention.

Brown 1

Elizabeth Lavold Silky Wool in Coffee Bean Brown, for this.  (Also here.)

Brown 2

Buffalo Gold #11 laceweight, in, well, buffalo color, for this.  (Also here.)  All those rumors you’ve heard about this yarn being incredibly soft and gorgeous?  True dat.  This was an extra special Christmas gift from the M.E, who gets quite a few extra Great Husband Points for buying it for me.  Especially since I was already spoiled rotten.

It’s really hard to choose.  They’re both beautiful.  I’ve swatched the Silky Wool and it seems nice to work with.  I’m torn between diving right into the Buffalo Gold, or hoarding it in my stash to smoosh and moon over for a few more months first.  One’s a warm brown, one’s cool.  My other brown project is a cool brown, so should I start something that contrasts?  Or not?

By the time I figure this out, I might have something else finished!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    What a hard decision. Maybe you should sleep with the buffalo while think about it.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Jeanice says:

    Eenie, meenie, mineey moe, catch a buffalo by the toe!

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  3. * cursingmama says:

    I’m wondering if the chicken is in anyway related to the girl grater. I can’t help myself.
    As for the yarn…. I’m sure neither one of them will be in skein form by June.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Carrie K says:

    Buffalo. I loves brown.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  5. * del says:

    Both are lovely. Brown does surprise you with its depth.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  6. * bezzie says:

    Browns have more fun!
    Oo…they make this yarn from the pelts of the buffalo slaughtered for the meat industry.
    Now, I know how freaking TASTY a buffalo is and they might want to think about including a skein of yarn in with their buffalo patties. Or vice versa–buy a skein, get a patty! MMMMM!!!

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Chris says:

    Mmm… coffee.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  8. * kmkat says:

    Both lovely. Brown can have such depths. Mmmm. The Stonewall shawl makes me think of kitty paw prints, even though kitties pretty much never have six toes.

    Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

