Mystery House



Inauguration Knitting

Yesterday was a good day for knitting.  Knitting, eye wiping, ear-to-ear beaming, feeling hopeful, loving the First Lady’s dress and the Queen of Soul’s hat (I know you saw them already, but did you read about them?), cherishing the history that was being made right there on my own TV screen.

I had an ideal project for the day, one that clicked along quickly and without fuss, with ultra-soft yarn in a color as bright and luminous as the our new President’s grin….and I can’t show it to you.  You can see the needles, though.  There they are in front of the Inaugural parade.  Size 9s.

Inauguration Needles

Such a beautiful day.  Beautiful.  And in our lifetime; in my mom’s lifetime.

And then, to get up this morning and see this.

800px-20090120_Obamas_take_the_Homestates_Ball_stage_for_photo_opPhoto from Wikipedia

At last.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    I keep waiting to see camera phone pictures from one of the balls in my feed reader this morning. It was all very moving!

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    I bet I know what you were knitting! I bet I’m knitting one too!

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * bezzie says:

    Nah, the most moving part was the helicopter leaving for Texas.
    Oof. Not so sure about that ballgown though. I hate Joan Rivers, but I think she was right about that gown. The swearing in dress was a bit better, although it looked peasoup green, not yellow like everyone says it is in all the pictures.

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Chris says:

    Hello, new day!

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Lisa says:

    I LOVED the gold outfit, but didn’t care for the ballgown. And the fact that I am googling fashion blogs is quite amazing!
    What a beautiful, moving day!

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  6. * del says:

    Yeah, it was all kinds of awesome. It’s gonna be a great 4 (8!!) years.

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  7. * Carrie K says:

    $179 for that hat? I am so getting it. I loved it.
    I loved her Inaugural Day outfit but didn’t like the ballgown much.
    It was a pretty amazing day.

    Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  8. * Lorette says:

    I agree with bezzie about the best part being the outgoing guy on the way back where he came from. Hallelujah. I hope he stays there this time.
    And Mrs. O. would look stunning in a burlap sack. As would her husband.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

