Mystery House



Determined

I. Am. Going. To. Finish. This. Sweater.

The Station at Alnmouth, a Classic Elite pattern from 1995.  Which I’ve been picking away at for years.  Possibly since 1995.  I don’t remember; I don’t keep track of things like that.

UFO Cardigan Sleeve

The back, both fronts, and all but an inch of one sleeve are done.  That’s the sleeve, above.  I know, it’s hard to tell what the pattern is in that photo, but the whole thing is encrusted with vines and bobbly-flowery things.  There’s a complicated chart, which involves lots of squinting.  That’s not why I stopped working on it.

Sometimes, I put things down and turn them into UFOs for silly reasons.  With this sweater, the task of measuring the back (which is quite oversized — it’s a one-size pattern) to figure out how long to make the drop sleeves seemed annoying.  Into the UFO bag it went.  And stayed there until I realized that I really need another cardigan, and this one’s almost finished.  So I measured.  Which took all of five minutes, including running downstairs for my favorite sheep tape measure.

I can be dramatic sometimes.  The rumors are true.

Now that the Drama of the Measuring is over, I’m ready to finish it.  Watch this space!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Isn’t it funny the things that trigger us to set aside a project?! The cardi I just finished? First time I set it aside was because I was sick of back and forth stockinette – right as I was about to start the sleeves (knit in the round).

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. * deb says:

    We’ll see who can finish their longest UFOs first. Mine is the yello one….ready, set, go!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  3. * cursingmama says:

    I like drama in knitting – keeps things extra interesting.

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  4. * lydee says:

    woo hoo! look forward to a FO!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    Wow, you’re just digging out lots of gems from the Mystery House of Yarn aren’t you? Can’t wait to see this finished!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Carrie K says:

    It took five minutes now. It might have taken days back in the day. There’s a certain amount of percolating that must be done.
    At least that’s one of my excuses.
    Cute! Looking forward to an FO picture where the bobbly flowery things are discernible. 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  7. * kmkat says:

    That will be a great sweater!

    Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

