Mystery House



Blocking

Totally Autumn Blocking 1

Sad, but true.  I finished Totally Autumn nearly a year ago, but never blocked it.  My excuse was that I didn’t have a space big enough to block it in.  (True.)  We made space, this summer, by fixing up a knitting room for me.  It’s also the guest room, but guests don’t come to stay all that often, so it’s a knitting room.  A pretty, pink knitting room!  With floor space!

So, finally remembering that poor old Totally Autumn was still jammed in the closet, I got to work.

Totally Autumn Blocking 2

Um, this thing is big.  I ran out of clean towels.  (No, I didn’t check how many there were before I got started.  This is me we’re talking about.)  I ran out of foam mat real estate.  I damn near ran out of floor.

Totally Autumn Blocking 3

Those are washcloths stuck under the end of the shawl so that it’s not directly on the floor.  Quite the cobbled together piece of nonsense, isn’t it?  This does not bode well for the even bigger piece of lace that’s in the works.  I will most certainly have to buy more foam mats.  And I may need to rent a bowling alley.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanice says:

    Breathtaking!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Ann says:

    It’s gorgeous! Now you’re making me want to make one too. Copy cat that I am.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. Yikes! That’s big! But it looks great. : )

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    I guess you blocked from your memory how big it was? Ha ha! Sorry it was too easy.
    It’s very pretty!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * deb says:

    How do you plan to wear (or display) it??

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Carrie K says:

    It looks fabulous! Now you just need to knock out a wall or two to make your craft room the correct size. 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  7. * lydee says:

    it’s beautiful! congrats!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  8. * kmkat says:

    I got a package of multi-colored foam mats — 9 of them, iirc — at Sam’s Club for $20. It was the Sam’s in White Bear Lake, which is probably the one closest to you.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

