Mystery House



Regular Knitting Resumes

Christmas Over

Christmas is over.  Sigh.

Knitting’s never over, however.  It simply changes from pesty Desk Monsters to stuff that I want to knit.  And right now, I want to knit the M.E. some socks.  Here’s the yarn:

Cannon Beach Yarn

Yarn Pirate’s Cannon Beach.  Gorgeous stuff, and very special.

I already know these socks are going to take an eternity.  The M.E. has big feet, and I’m working with size 1 needles.  And I’m not fast.  I don’t knit particularly slowly, but I pick away at projects slowly.  You know, I rip and reknit a great deal, and flit from one project to another, and go off to do other things, and that results in slow knitting and not very many things finished.  I’m not like some people, who magically turn out beautiful sweaters rapidfire, or other people, who conjure up a lovely pair of socks about every three minutes or so.  Nope, I let my knitting age.  I braise rather than flash-fry, like it’s short ribs.

That’s fine with me.  I am who I am, and I knit the way I knit.  I enjoy knitting for the process and don’t fret too much (not too much) about things not getting done (except for Christmas Monsters, at Christmas knitting time).  So, all that stuff you may remember I was working on?  Stonington?  The Anniversary Shawl?  The Chocolate Cherry Socks?  Still working on them.

So.  I’m not going to sum up 2008’s knitting and list all the stuff I finished.  Because I don’t care.  I did a lot of knitting in 2008 and had a good time with it.  I plan to do a lot of knitting in 2009.  No specific goals.  Because I think that’s silly.  I’m just going to knit.

I’m not going to post a string of photos and brag about all the yarn and knitting bags I got for Christmas, either.  Because I don’t feel like it.  You’ll see most of the loot, if you stick around, but I’m going to sneak it in.  Because I’m sneaky.

Hmm.  This turned into a declaration of sorts.  A resolution.  Might as well run with that.  So there you have it:  Resolved, in 2009, I’m going to knit as much as I feel like it and have fun.  If luck is with me, I’ll finish the M.E.’s socks.  And I won’t stop being contrary, so don’t worry.

I need one last look at Christmas now, don’t you?

2008 Christmas Tree CU 1

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bezzie says:

    Blue spruce! Good tree!
    Yeah normally I do a “what I knitted this year” round up, but I was feeling lazy!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. Quite evocative, that tree by the street photo. 🙂 The yarn for ME’s socks is gorgeous!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Heh, I was too sick to be looking fondly back at Christmas…

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. * deb says:

    I’m not sure I need Christmas so much as I want the time off from the usual routine. And time with my family. Love the yarn! That should make the longer process SO much better!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. * kitkatknit says:

    Cannon Beach OR is one of my favorite places. And I love the sock yarn that Yarn Pirate dyed and named Cannon Beach. Good choice!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  6. * lydee says:

    poor, poor tree. it looks so sad out there at the end of the driveway!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  7. * marylou says:

    I’m with you, i don’t do a summary, probably because I’m too lazy and disorganized! not that I am suggesting that is the case for you. In your case I’m sure it’s a well reasoned plan.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

