Mystery House



Behold…

Godzilla 1

Yes, ‘tis the traditional Christmas monster.  Yes, that monster, and he’s finally done.  No, I didn’t think I’d ever finish him, so pesty was the pattern.

No, I do not recommend this book. Yes, the designs are cute.  But the instructions are as poorly written and as incomplete as the designs are cute.  Had I been knitting this piece for myself, rather than for my brother the Very Smart Professor, whom I love dearly, I would have relegated it to the permanent UFO pile.  But I finished it, so that the Very Smart Professor will have a monster to adorn his desk.  Special thanks to the M.E., who took on the difficult and exacting task of gluing the teeth, feet and eyeballs in place!  (I am far from exacting with glue.  The reality of me with glue is not pretty.)

My opinion of the designer?

Godzilla 2

Get her, Gojira!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. That’s pretty awesome! Too bad about the instructions.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    LOL! At least the result is cute….

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * laurie says:

    wow, that is SO COOL.
    it reminds me of a painting i almost bought about 15 years ago, and have regretted not buying ever since. it showed two monsters similar to this one, staring at a cityscape. the title was “let’s go eat these buildings.”

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  4. * kmkat says:

    Go, you! I will never even attempt to knit any of those cute little toys/dolls/whatevers — I love knitting and hate finishing, so making one to completion would be torture.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Cheryl S. says:

    Yes, that book is really a lot more useful for inspiration than for the actual patterns. But Godzilla came out great!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  6. * bezzie says:

    Ah the things we do for siblings!!! But he is pretty damn cute! (The monster that is, I can’t make that call about your brother sans a picture 😉 )

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Jeanice says:

    fierce!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  8. * michaele says:

    I got to say, it’s hard to take your anti-recommendation seriously when faced with such an adorable monster!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  9. * lydee says:

    LOL! Love the pics too! too bad about the designer.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  10. * deb says:

    Oh.My.God. He is so fiercly adorable! Good for you for perservering to the final product!

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  11. * del says:

    That is too cute! What a sweet sister you are.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  12. * lisa says:

    He’s a great monster! So does your brother have a collection of these knitted monsters on his desk? Can you get a collective photo?

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  13. * Guinifer says:

    Cutest Gojira I have EVER seen. Quite scary, though. I’d keep him away from Chaos & May.

    Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

