Mystery House



Christmas Baking

Well, there hasn’t been much of it.  Normally, I spend the early part of December in a flurry of flour, but this year?  Uh uh.  I’m blaming it on the months of sawdust.  We’re into the mood of Christmas this year, just not the doing of it.  Anything deemed “too much work” has been thrown overboard.  Yes, this is the year of The Half-Assed Christmas.

Lights outside?  Up on the house, but not the bushes.  Decorating inside?  Half the boxes of sparkly stuff are sitting in the garage.  Cards?  Not sent yet.  Gifts?  Half of them haven’t arrived from wherever we ordered them from, so they certainly aren’t wrapped.  Cleaning?  Don’t ask.

I’ve only made two kinds of cookies thus far, and in smaller quantities than I normally do.  Wait.  Make that three kinds.  Because I may have cut back drastically this year, but I can’t forget about one very important holiday tradition:  I always make cookies for the dog.

They always go in an old Godiva tin, which he knows is his.  He gets excited when he sees it come out of the storage room, and if the tin is left at Dr. Evil-level, he’ll nose it relentlessly, hoping there are cookies inside.  How could I not make a Christmas gift for our very good little guy?  So, out came the tin, and I started looking for a recipe.

I tried a new one this year, and in the spirit of The Half-Assed Christmas, it’s very easy and very quick, much more so than the recipes I’ve made before.  Seriously, this takes no time.  Check out the recipe here.  Oatmeal, cornmeal, all good stuff.  I used turkey broth, because I had some in the freezer from Thanksgiving.  Is there anything a dog loves more than turkey?

Dr. Evil was off somewhere snoozing while I baked the first batch, completely ignoring me and my boring old baking.  But once the cookies were done and cooled, I called him in to sample one.  Suddenly, he was on high alert.  He loved the cookie.  Wanted more.  Wanted all of them.  And when he saw that I was about to concoct another batch, he sat right down next to my feet to supervise.  Those cookies weren’t going to get away from him.  This is the look I got, the entire time I mixed and rolled and cut:

Dog Cookie Face


I mean, he did not move until he was certain I’d done a proper job and his tin would be filled.  And it was.

Dog Cookies

And all is well, and, according to Dr. Evil, Christmas can now officially begin.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Connie says:

    I am going to try that recipe for our dog too. I only have a tree up (decorated), 1 large family gift purchased, and a plane ticket for my son to come home. That is all 🙂 I think Peter and I are going to go to Costco at the open tomorrow. I will get to drive a little cart around! I really have to get the kids into the kitchen to bake – we make some traditional Greek cookies and Kringla as well.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * lydee says:

    that’s great! love the pic of dr. evil too! happy h-a christmas!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    Oh, Dr. Evil, you are too cute for words!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Jeanice says:

    Hooray for you! I became a follower of the Half-Ass Christmas philosophy a few years ago. I do what gives me pleasure as I prepare for the holidays. Christmas is so much more enjoyable and there is less stress. After all, we are supposed to be celebrating-not driving ourselves into lunacy! Less is more-enjoy yourselves. Dr. Evil is adorable.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Carrie K says:

    He certainly takes his job seriously. A little too seriously. The whole time? You only feed him at Christmas? Poor little starved critter. 🙂
    I try to host the Year of the Half Assed Christmas every year.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    How sweet!!!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Guinifer says:

    I have had a hard time commenting on your blog all week. I think it’s typepad!
    I think I’d like to try some of Dr. Evil’s snacks. They look yummy!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  8. * mary lou says:

    I nam a total fan of the half assed Christmas. I do less and less every year. Unless I really fell like it and have time, I don’t do it. I don’t need all those cookies anyway. I do bake a special sweet yeast bread for Christmas morning. That cannot ever be let go.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  9. * del says:

    You sound like me, but I did manage to get cards out this year! At least the doggie is taken care of.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  10. Half-assed is okay for most of us … but NOT for the dog! I’m glad you didn’t skimp on him this year. I have decided on a Full-arse decorating job for this year. Just no energy or desire this year. Maybe next year.
    BTW, those cookies DO look yummy!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  11. * Lisa says:

    I doubt our Christmas this year will even rate half an ass — maybe a quarter at most. Work is ridiculous, money nonexistent, and the spirit noticeably lacking. But I may just try those doggie cookies over my blessed four-day weekend — at least one member of the household deserves something to be excited about.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

