Mystery House



Sherried Chicken & Mushrooms with Savory Waffles

Waffles have been on my mind lately, but not sweet ones.  Savory waffles.  Serious dinner waffles that scoff at maple syrup and send jam back to its hiding place in the cupboard.  With some sort of sauce that’s so good, it makes you glad you own a stove.  I dug around a bit for such a recipe, then decided to make up my own.  (At least for the sauce.)

This turned out to be a terrific collaboration.  I set the M.E. to work on the waffles (because he’s very good at waffles), and I worked on the sauce.  He started with this recipe (scroll down), using all the ingredients except the ginger.  But I must say that the M.E. has never yet followed any method found in a waffle recipe.  That thing about separating the eggs and whipping the whites?  He doesn’t bother.  And his waffles are perfectly light and crispy every time.  So, I have no idea what he did with it — I was chopping mushrooms — except to say that waffles appeared, and they were fabulous.

In the meantime, I sauteed chopped shallots in a mixture of butter and canola oil.

SWaffles 1

Added mushrooms.  Lots of mushrooms, a mix of white ones and baby bellas, cut in chunks.  Salt & pepper and some dried thyme.  I wanted fresh thyme for this, but the grocery store was out of it.

SWaffles 3

The M.E. took a break from his mysterious duties to saute some chicken (in another pan) until it was almost — not quite — done.  You’ll want it to finish in the sauce.

SWaffles 2

He took the chicken off the heat and put it in a bowl, and then I deglazed the chicken pan with some dry sherry.  At least half a cup, maybe more.  When all the nicely browned bits of chickeny goodness were scraped up, I poured that mixture into the mushroom pan.

SWaffles 4

Letting it cook for just a few minutes, I then added in the chicken and the juices that had collected in the bowl.

Time for the heavy cream.  Don’t be stingy.  I simmered the sauce carefully, so that it didn’t curdle, and adjusted the seasonings.

SWaffles 5

Then, I thickened it up:  In a small bowl, stir a couple tablespoons of AP flour together with more sherry.  More sherry!  Lots of sherry!  That’s how you can tell this is a recipe worth making!  Use enough sherry so that the result is a slurry, not a paste.  Stir this into the mushroom mixture, and simmer with caution until the sauce thickens nicely.

After checking the seasonings one last time, I poured the sauce over those luscious, peppery waffles which had been making me crazy with their aroma the whole time.

SWaffles 6

Mmmm.  That was exactly what I wanted.  And the waffle guru, what did he think?  Take another look…

SWaffles 8

Mmmm and double mmmm.  Loved it.

I must say, I am comforted knowing that my sweetie made more waffles than we could possibly eat at one sitting.  This means that there are savory waffles in the freezer, just waiting to be warmed up and slathered with sauce…it’ll be a good winter.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Hmm. I must not be awake enough for the idea of savory waffles.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Cheryl S. says:

    Looks yummy! And I guess my savory french toast doesn’t seem quite so strange now.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Guinifer says:

    Who needs waffles, I’d eat the sauce just by itself….

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Ann says:

    Hmmm, I’m not sure about savory waffles. I like my waffles good and sweet with lots of syrup, thank you. But I really could see the sauce in some crepes. Mmmmm.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Amy says:

    Savory waffles! I never thought of that! Must try.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  6. * bezzie says:

    You had me at “waffle!”

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  7. * lisa says:

    Mmmmmm hmmmmm! Well, the mystery of the contest winnings was solved… the yarn did NOT come from you! But rather from the “Crafty Canadian” who blogs as One Too Many Projects. So you’re not losing your mind or anything…. LOVE the godzilla! Mom used to drag us all of to see re-runs at the cheap seats theater… think mid 1970’s, my bro and I bored out of our minds, because youngest bro wanted to see these movies. I think, maybe it was the other bro. But at one of them, mom covered up youngest bro’s eyes, and folks in the back were hooting about it… “she’s covering his eyes!”. Can’t have the kid seeing girly bits or anything. He’s over 40 now and I think he’s seen all those bits.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Lorette says:

    Yum. Looks like a very nice thing to do with boneless chicken breasts from Costco!

    Posted 9 years ago
  9. * Jesse says:

    As the source of the waffle recipe, I’m going to guess that M.E. is adding baking soda or some other leavener. The reason behind separating the eggs is to use the whites as leavening agent. Perhaps M. E. is using self-rising flour?
    Because the fat in the egg yolks would prohibit the whites from being whipped fluffy if they’re not separated, thereby requiring some sort of outside source of air in the batter.
    I recommend trying waffles yourself to see the difference. They’re tasty; and, if you can make a waffle (with the rest of the batter being gently folded into the fluffy whites in such a way as to minimize the bursting of air pockets), you can make a souffle.

    Posted 9 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

