Mystery House



Christmas Gift #3, Done!

FIL Scarf Unblocked

The FIL scarf is finished.  Except for blocking.  This is an incredibly fast pattern to knit. If you can’t follow that Ravelry link, it’s the Men’s Cashmere Scarf in Last Minute Knitted Gifts.  But not in cashmere.  Because $150 for a simple, plain scarf seems silly when Misti Alpaca Chunky is more than sufficient in the smooshy & soft department.

If you don’t have the book, it’s just a slight variation on the broken rib stitch.  Look in Walker.  And if you don’t have that book, well, then it sounds like you need more knitting books.  Christmas begging season starts now.  You can put it on your wish list.  Or go to the library.  Or look online for “broken rib stitch.”  And if none of those things sound like suitable solutions, you’re beyond help and there’s nothing I can do for you.  Move along now.  Go knit a dishcloth instead.

For those of you who are still here, we turn now to my brother.  This is the first piece of his gift:

Mystery Piece 1

Anyone care to guess what it is?  The color is a hint.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    A greenhouse? An olive tray?

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * cursingmama says:

    I thought some kind of hat(?) until you said the color was a hint – now I’m just perplexed!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Guinifer says:

    I am perplexed also, does your brother need a bib?

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  4. * deb says:

    No clue whatsoever!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  5. * del says:

    You’re so nice to Christmas knit. I just can’t do it…maybe next year. I agree, $150 for a scarf?? I like yours much better.
    No idea what the brother’s gift is. The color clue isn’t helping me at all.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    Some sort of hat? Face mask?

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  7. * kmkat says:

    You are getting a head start on his Halloween costume for 2009, when he plans to be Robin Hood?
    Maybe it’s the beginning of a face mask/hat for duck season. Is he a hunter? The green isn’t quite right on my screen to be anything for a Packer fan, so that is out, I think.
    Okay, I give up.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  8. * bezzie says:

    I have NO idea!!! But I like the scarf. I think alpaca’s probably warmer than cashmere anyway.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  9. * mary lou says:

    I just found 3 skeins of that same color Misti Chunky in my stash and pulled it out for Christmas knitting. Great minds think alike.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  10. * lisa says:

    I am so SO behind on blog reading… that I just skimmed some of your posts… was that drink w/ the candied corn pumpkins actually any good???? Way back when you sent me some lovely yarn. I re-gifted the turquoise to a friend who made bobbled gloves for another friend (in Denmark, so I have no pictures!). But I just finished the flower basket shawl for my mom from the posh yarn. It’s in ravelry, my name there is knitnzu. Mom reads the blog, so I can’t put up pics there. It was very lovely, thanks so much again!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  11. * Jemima says:

    A beard warmer?
    Don’t you just love positively everything in Last Minute Knitted Gifts? Usually I’ll only love one or two projects in a book, but this one, I luuuurve them (luff them) all.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  12. Great color!

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  13. * kitkatknit says:

    A paint ball gun cozy?? I only say that because that’s what a friend of mine knits out of greens and camo.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

