Mystery House



Newman’s Almond Fruit Pudding

Paul Newman
Image from Wikipedia

Who didn’t love Paul Newman?  I mean, besides Richard Nixon.  (Check out Nixon’s original enemies list.  Number 19.  Mr. Newman was very proud of that.  I agree, it was quite an honor.)

Mr. Newman was talented, handsome and unfailingly generous, as his company, Newman’s Own, continues to demonstrate.   A quarter of a billion dollarsAll to charity.  I love the company slogan, “Shameless exploitation in pursuit of the common good.”  (Do visit the website and watch the video.  It’s lovely.  Have some kleenex close at hand.  You’ll also find quite a few recipes there.)  As a fellow lover of food, and admirer of his good works, how could I not write a tribute to Paul Newman?

He put out a couple of pretty nice cookbooks, too, as you might imagine if you’ve given it any thought.  Mr. Newman loved simple food — chicken soup, popcorn, salads — and that’s what his books are filled with, good simple recipes from his family and friends, punctuated by stories, humor and the delightful spirit of a man who loved food and knew how to have a ball every day.

Newman’s Own Cookbook has been on my shelf for years, filled with scraps of paper marking recipes I’d like to make.  But while reading through it, of course I came across an unmarked and previously unnoticed recipe that demanded I make it right away.

Almond Fruit Pudding.   Oooh, this is a good one.  And it’s really easy.  It’s in the dessert section of the book, but it sounded like breakfast to me:  fruit, nuts, eggs.  So I made it for Sunday breakfast.

I love that it starts out just like my very, very favorite childhood breakfast, fruit soup.  You take a mix of different dried fruits.…

Almond Pudding 2

….and cook them together with sugar and what else?

Almond Pudding 1

Newman’s Own Lemonade, of course.  Which is a good lemonade, I might note.  Nicely tangy, not overly sweet.  (Okay, fruit soup doesn’t have lemonade in it, but still.  This reminds me of it.)  I added a bit of lemon zest to the mix, too.  There it is, cooking away.  You want the fruit to be nice and tender, which will take longer than the four minutes mentioned in the recipe.

Almond Pudding 10

I could eat it at this stage, without doing another thing.  But I did want to try the recipe, so I kept going.  While the fruit’s cooking, you take some of these:

Almond Pudding 8

(Non-DYMO label especially for Ms. D.)

And whooz (that’s a technical term, for you non-foodies) them in the food processor until you get this:

Almond Pudding 7

All nicely ground up.  Then beat some eggs with more sugar.

Almond Pudding 9

Dr. Evil was nearby, and let me know that he did not approve of the mixer.  Note his Mixers Are Unauthorized face:

Maxwell's Mixer Face

I persisted nevertheless.  A persnickety little dog is not stopping me from making breakfast.

When the fruit is done, put it in an ungreased souffle dish.

Almond Pudding 11

Mix the almonds into the egg mixture, and goob it over the top.  (Another technical term.)

Almond Pudding 12

Bake it at 350 for about 40 to 45 minutes.  I found that the top browned quickly, so about halfway through I covered it with foil.  It comes out looking like this:

Almond Pudding 13

Devour right away — it should be hot when you eat it.  And yeah, it was exactly as good as I thought it would be.  Scrumptious.  Perfect for breakfast, better, I think, than it would be as a dessert.  I might add a touch of cinnamon next time, but it really doesn’t need anything else.  We loved this.  The leftovers, should you have any, reheat nicely in the nuke.  (Non-foodie technical term.)

Almond Pudding 14

Thank you, Mr. Newman!  We miss you.  And I hope that when you got to heaven, you brought enough for everybody.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    Nice tribute! He was a wonderful man, and I have always had enormous respect for both him and Joanne.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * deb says:

    Yum! And for the record – we have four electronic label devices here!! Nothing but the yarn room is labeled however!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Carrie K says:

    That is the cutest Mixers Are Unauthorized face I’ve ever seen. I have to agree with him on that one, the new KitchenAid sounds like a gravel truck. I try to use the hand mixer.
    Paul Newman? On Nixon’s list? Oooh, I just read it. That was a man that loved his lists too much.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Chris says:

    I’m sure Mr. Newman would be honored. 🙂 I especially like Dr. Evil’s “no mixers” face!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. * bezzie says:

    Delish! Too sweet for my breakfast though 😦

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

