Mystery House



Possessed

Anyone else have possessed lace?

I swear, one or two rows in this pattern have behaved as if they’re infested by demons.  The rest have been a breeze.  It’s not a difficult pattern, but it does seem to have a mind of its own.  Right now, the troublemaker is row 63.  Which is identical to row 31, a row that behaved itself admirably and created no problems.  But all of a sudden, the stitch count within each repeat is acting in a randomly wonky manner.

The markers are moving.  I swear.  When I’m minding my own business, working away at the beginning of each 48-stitch repeat, the marker at the end will sneakily slip itself under the next stitch so that by the time I get to the end my 48 stitches will have become 49.  I never see it happening — the stitches don’t appear to be loose enough to allow the markers room to run around.  And unfortunately, when lace laughs a wicked marker-moving-laugh, it’s done so quietly that I never hear it.  So I have to stop, count, swear, unknit, move markers and count again.

On top of all that, the lifeline I put in on the previous row suddenly broke.  Row 63 is one of the easiest rows in the pattern.  And why would a lifeline snap all by itself?  The only reasonable explanation is a lace demon.

I stopped working and carefully looked over the entire piece of lace, and yes indeedy, I found his hiding place.  If you look closely, you’ll see him.  He moves fast, though, so look quickly.

Lace Demon

Okay, this is getting annoying.  Box elder bugs hanging around the front door, mice migrating in from the woods, and now lace demons.  How many vermin is a girl supposed to tolerate?  A mix of Pinesol and water works on the box elders, and traps work for the mice, but what about this thing?

Lace Demon 2

He’s all teeth and claws and lace-snagging horns, and is clearly up to no good.   I’m blaming Sarah Palin.  (Isn’t one of her kids named Snagger?)  And I think my lace needs a cleansing ceremony.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    I have no solution for the Lace Demon, but dishwashing liquid and water also work great on box elder bugs. Ask me how I know.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Amy says:

    I think the lace demon needs to be interrogated for unAmerican activities.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Guinifer says:

    You need a Psychic to cleanse your needles, I think.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * cursingmama says:

    Snagger – very good
    So is what Amy said.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Chris says:

    Run away! Run away! Quick, before the Lace Demon escalates his violence!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  6. * bezzie says:

    I dunno man, she might have a rack from a guy like that hanging on her living room wall! Hee hee! That’s some pretty intensive cutting you did on that little monster–all those points!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Lydee says:

    LOLOL!!!

    Posted 9 years ago
  8. * del says:

    Ha ha ha!!! When I got to the part about the lifeline breaking, I was like, Hmmm, maybe it IS possessed. Sure sounds like it! I would say stick a stake in it, but you might kill your lace as well.

    Posted 9 years ago
  9. * Carrie K says:

    Actually I believe it’s Alan Greenspan’s fault. Lace Demons!! Yes, I’ve suffered from them. I’m not sure there is any exorcism…..

    Posted 9 years ago
  10. * Anonymous says:

    I think that he is kinda cute!

    Posted 9 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

