Mystery House



Grilled Baby Bok Choy

Baby Bok Choy

Aren’t they pretty?  Big old full-grown bok choy is okay to cook with, but the baby ones are my favorite.  They’re so cute that they demand you buy them and take them home and grill them.  If you walk away from them in the store, within five minutes you’ll hear little bok choy voices calling after you, Wait!  Come back!  Don’t leave us here next to all this great big mean cabbage!

So, take them home with you.  Get out your grill pan or fire up the outdoor grill.  If you’re using a grill pan, spray it with cooking spray and get it good and hot.

Split the bok choys lengthwise (they won’t scream) and lay them cut side down in the hot pan.

Baby Bok Choy 2

Look at that.  They’re even cute in the pan.

Then just grill them until they’re nice and tender and have a few good scorch marks.  You’ll need to turn them at least once.

In the meantime, mix up a sauce.  This time, I used Chinese black vinegar (which is sort of the Chinese version of balsamic, rich and sweet), soy sauce, and a little sesame oil.  I didn’t measure anything, so you won’t need to, either.  When the bok choy is ready to leave the grill, put them in the bowl with the sauce and toss them around.  They like that part.

Baby Bok Choy 3

And serve.  They’re are good hot, or at room temperature if you’ve been fooling around trying to get the dressing right for your sesame noodles.  You know, if you tried yet another recipe for sesame noodles because of your sesame noodle obsession, and it really wasn’t as good as your favorite one and needed some doctoring.  The bok choy will still be really, really good after that.

Baby Bok Choy 4

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    It seems strange that baby bok choy would choose to be devoured!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Cheryl S. says:

    That’s exactly what happened to me! I saw them in the store and couldn’t resist ’cause they were so darn cute!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Jeanne says:

    I often pass stuff up at the grocery store because I don’t know what to do with it. Thanks for the bok choy tips. I think I’ll have to give it a try.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Amy says:

    Yum. Yum, I say.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Guinifer says:

    Well, since I’m on my own for dinner tonight, and I’m NOT cooking, guess I need to go out and find something to eat. You’ve made me hungry, again!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Lydee says:

    Ohhh, that sounds so good. You’ve inspired me, again 🙂

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

