Mystery House



Olympic Training, Part Three

I’m back, sort of.  I was supposed to be here with a nice feeling of completion and pictures of a new tile floor, but I have none of that.  In fact, here’s the room where the tile is supposed to be.

Bare Den Floor 2

Where’s the tile, you ask?  Let’s just say that Lowe’s is not scoring any points with us for doing things right.  Last Wednesday, after we’d already moved all the furniture out of the room and found inconvenient places to stash it, they delivered the wrong tile.  Beige.  Not charcoal.  Beige and charcoal are very different colors, at least to people who have functioning eyeballs.  I won’t go into how this happened, but believe me, they’re such a class act that I’m not counting chickens, eggs, or skeins of merino until the exact right tile is actually here.

The M.E. fixed the internet connection in my temporary office, but last week I couldn’t sit in here for more than a few minutes at a time, the fumes from curing paint were too strong.  It’s getting better now, so I might get a little work done this week.  (You know, in between calls to holler at Lowe’s.)

The good side of all this, even though it’s a tiny good side, was that I got to take a couple of unscheduled vacation days last week.  Paint fume days.  I did a lot of knitting.  A fair amount of unknitting, too, but lots of knitting.  I’m almost through Clue 4 on my Anniversary Mystery Shawl, and have only a few rows to go before a pair of socks is finished.  I’m whipping through the border on Stonington, which is becoming a favorite.

I also swatched for my second Olympics project, which will be the Tidal Wave socks (here and here) for my very sweet husband’s very sweet mom.  My in-laws live in Florida, but I figured she could use some good warm socks when they visit us at Thanksgiving.

Pink Swatch

Panda Silk.  Feels very good, knits up into a beautiful fabric, and it’s a perfect pink.  Thank goodness I can use size US 2 needles — otherwise I’d have little hope of moving at an Olympic speed with these.

Tomorrow:  sock pictures!  But not these socks!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * olga says:

    I love the purple walls, not purple you say? They look purple to me.I’m starting my own project- Looking at the gazillon paint chips at Lowes to pick one for living room. it’s a full time job.

    Posted 9 years ago
  2. * bellamoden says:

    I love that purple!!!!!
    Gah, dumb lowe’s people. 😦

    Posted 9 years ago
  3. * Chris says:

    Oh, that sucks about the tile! Beige sure wouldn’t work with those walls. 🙂

    Posted 9 years ago
  4. * Carrie K says:

    Beige – very close to charcoal! It’s the lighter version. 🙂
    How maddening. At least you were able to get a little knitting in.
    That is going to look fabulous with charcoal floors!

    Posted 9 years ago
  5. * Cheryl S. says:

    I bought some Panda Silk on impulse. Haven’t tried it yet, but it sure feels nice!

    Posted 9 years ago
  6. * deb says:

    Hey – there’s no floor in that room!! But the walls are VERY Miss T-esque!!

    Posted 9 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

