Mystery House



Orange Chipotle Shrimp

Chipotle Shrimp 1

I admit, I’m one to try multiple variations of things, each one being a slight tweak of the one before.  It’s like buying the same hue of yarn over and over (don’t even try to tell me you don’t do that).  Certain combinations just work.

It was only a little more than a month ago when I posted a recipe for Spicy Orange Shrimp, and here I am again with shrimp, oranges, and peppers.  The other recipe was Asian-inspired.  This one has a Mexican flavor.  Isn’t our world great?  Give different people the same ingredients and they’ll come up with marvelously varied things.

This recipe was not only good, it was fast.  Incredibly fast.  And this was one of those weeks in which fast, easy dinners were looked upon quite favorably by the inhabitants of Casa Mystery.  (A week in which we were grateful to not be eating frozen pizza every night.)  Basically, you marinate shrimp in orange juice, zest and chopped chipotle.  Then you cook it.  Yeah, that’s all there is to it.  The recipe is here.

Since it was a million degrees on the day I made this and both of us refused to go outside, the shrimp didn’t wind up being grilled.  I cooked it in a non-stick skillet instead, with all its marinade.  This made for quite a delicious sauce — I’d certainly make some rice or noodles or something next time, to soak it up.

Chipotle Shrimp 2
Would I make this again?  Absolutely.  In fact, it’s going on the short list.  More easy dinners will be needed in the coming weeks, I suspect…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    Your little veggie side dish looks pretty fantastic too. Hopefully this weekend grilling will be back on the docket!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Sounds and looks tasty!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  3. * deb says:

    Well, I’d eat it but the fishless here would have to have the frozen pizzas. What a pretty presentation too.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Guinifer says:

    That one made me moan in envy. The only time I get shrimp it’s when someone else cooks it (I’m the only one that really likes it here.)

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Guinifer says:

    That one made me moan in envy. The only time I get shrimp it’s when someone else cooks it (I’m the only one that really likes it here.)

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Cheryl S. says:

    MMMMMMMmmmmm – looks delish!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  7. * kmkat says:

    I want to eat that photo right off the screen. Shrimp may be my all-time favorite protein. The vegies look yummy, too — care to share their prep?

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

