Mystery House



Olympic Training, Part Two

Forest Canopy Swatch 2

What do you think?  It’s not as jazzy in a photograph as the Raspberry Mer-Made is, but the recipient will like it better.  She wears lots of black.

Here’s how it looks in the Blocking Simulator 3000:

Forest Canopy Swatch 3

Yarn:  Reynolds Andean Alpaca in Black, stashed approximately 20 years ago.  I have enough for a sweater, so this little bitty shoulder shawl won’t be the last time it makes an appearance.

Pros:  Nice to knit with, heavy enough that I can use size 9 needles and knit fast, but should have better drape than the Mer-Made.  Plus I should win a medal just for using stash yarn this old!

Cons:  Can’t think of any, other than the fact that the alpaca is a bit hairier to knit with.

Verdict:  Yes!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * deb says:

    Cast on … but wait til 8/8/08!!

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Anonymous says:

    OOo…where did you buy your Blocking Simulator 3000? Where can I get one? 😉
    No it looks good. Definately not as bright as Mer-Made, but those crazy kid yarns are sometimes too young for their own good. Better to go with the “vintage” 20 year old alpaca.

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Kelly says:

    Very nice. I agree, the heavy weight Mer-made would be a little too “beefy”; makes a great sweater, but not so great for a drapy shawl. Great choice.

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Guinifer says:

    It has such a lovely sheen to it as well. I’ll give you a medal if no one else will. I may have some 20 year old stash here as well…you are making me think!

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Connie says:

    That is really pretty. I have made several of shawls from this pattern and this post reminds me that I have one completed – waiting to be blocked! I think I will take care of that this weekend!

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Chris says:

    You know I won’t argue against black. 😀

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Carrie K says:

    Oooh! How did you get your hands on the Blocking Simulator 3000? I thought they weren’t out for another six months.
    Nice! Black is always a good choice and busting 20 year old stash? Four star.
    PS. That chipotle shrimp looks delicious! Quick too? Perfect.

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

