Mystery House



Olympic Training Begins

Forest Canopy Swatch 1

My first Forest Canopy swatch.

Yarn:  Blackberry Ridge Mer-Made Wool, in Raspberry.  They call this a “heavy-medium” yarn, so it’s sort of a heavy worsted.

Pros:  Knits up insanely fast on size 10 needles.  Scrumptious color to work with.  It’s stash yarn, which should convey extra glory if I finish.

Cons:  Because of the yarn weight, the finished piece isn’t likely to have the drape I want.  Color might be a bit much for the intended recipient (Mom).

Verdict:  Hmm.

Next up is some really old stash yarn.  I mean, deep stash.

Black Andean Alpaca

I have higher hopes for this one.  Stay tuned.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cursingmama says:

    I love the raspberry color, but I can see how the intended wearer would have to be the right person. I also love to wear black but after knitting with it a few times I have declared it a color that is outside my boundaries of reasonable. I have a horrible time reading the stitches and end up cross-eyed. Hopefully you have better eyes.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * bezzie says:

    Woah nelly. That’s kind of a vintage yarn isn’t it? Although I do like the raspberry, I can identify w/people who it would be too much in a big project.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  3. * deb says:

    Ummmmmmm – raspberry yumminess!!

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  4. * olga says:

    Dude- your going all crazy on us! Stash knitting? What next? finishing your WIP’s?

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  5. * olga says:

    Dude- your going all crazy on us! Stash knitting? What next? finishing your WIP’s?

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Guinifer says:

    I love the blue-ish one. How many projects do you think to cast on?

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Chris says:

    Too bad about the MerMade – it is gorgeous.

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  8. Lurve the color! I know you’ve decided on a different yarn (the black), but I’m curious… do you think Mer-Made might be good for a blanket a la Jared’s Hemlock Ring?

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  9. Lurve the color! I know you’ve decided on a different yarn (the black), but I’m curious… do you think Mer-Made might be good for a blanket a la Jared’s Hemlock Ring?

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

