Mystery House



I Don’t Knit

I rip.

On Friday, I spent a few hours with my knitting group and got about three inches done on the Yellow Torture Sock.  It’s an annoying pattern, and I just don’t go very fast with it.  So three inches was quite a lot.  I immediately discovered that I’d made a mistake — on every pattern repeat.

The Yellow Torture Sock is now doubly torturous, and my hard-won three inches has been ripped. I hate to even think about this blasted sock.

Ripped Yellow Torture Sock

I thought, well, an easy sock — a very, very easy sock — would make a nice break from things.  Whipped through a few inches of the toe of my Toe-Up Socks (they don’t have a snappier name yet).  I thought it looked a bit strange.  Then I realized I was increasing on every row.  Not every other row.  Every row, I can tell you, makes a weird-looking toe.  Aren’t you glad I’ve tested this for you?

Back to beginning.

Ripped Toe Up Toe

And then there’s my Anniversary Mystery Shawl.  You know, the one with the difficult cast-on that took me days to master.  I dutifully inserted a lifeline after the first clue.  Proceeded on to the second clue.  Got about ten rows in, and realized that it didn’t look very good.  My gauge was so loose that the pattern wasn’t showing up very clearly and it looked like jumbled, random holes rather than beautiful, rhythmic lace.  Perhaps my knitting, which seemed fine when I swatched, loosened up when I started the shawl.  Perhaps I’m using the wrong yarn or needles.  I don’t know.  But it wasn’t right.

So here it is.  My shawl.

Ripped Mystery Shawl

I have to love something to keep going with it, and I wasn’t loving this piece of knitting.  But I do love the pattern, so I’m going to start over with another swatch and smaller needles.

After a break.

Sigh.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Chris says:

    Oh dear. I hate when knitting’s going like that.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Jeanice says:

    Oh my, how frustrating. I think that you need a nice cup of tea with a friend at a local coffee shop.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * kmkat says:

    I think I could love the Yellow Torture Socks — what is the pattern? My sympathies on the Mystery Shawl. Perhaps that will acquire a different name soon, something involving “torture” or “agony”?

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * deb says:

    Is the yellow sock really called the “Torture Sock”? Cuz if not, maybe it just hates its name. FWIW, I don’t see any stinkin’ mistakes so I’d just keep going. Next sock – yeah, that toe- not so much!!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  5. * cursingmama says:

    *Thud*
    I’m just blown away that you ripped out the shawl. I would’ve left it part done in a plastic bag at the bottom of the knitting box for years…..

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Guinifer says:

    Sounds like humidity knitting to me – guaranteed to make you cry.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Guinifer says:

    Sounds like humidity knitting to me – guaranteed to make you cry.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Ann says:

    Oh, that’s so sad. All that work for nothing. Hope you find a project that you can make some progress on!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Mary Lou says:

    I just ripped back most of a pair of PLAIN STOCKINETTE socks – fo figure. i ended up with a wrong number of heels sts and they didn’t fit. It never ends.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  10. * Connie says:

    Ah yes – those were particularly tortuous socks to knit. I must say though that they are one of my best fitting socks. Sally Forth! The shawl is never going to be started by me. I really just want to finish my Mystery Stole – but I have to actually pick it up and work on it!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  11. * Connie says:

    Ah yes – those were particularly tortuous socks to knit. I must say though that they are one of my best fitting socks. Sally Forth! The shawl is never going to be started by me. I really just want to finish my Mystery Stole – but I have to actually pick it up and work on it!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  12. * Carrie K says:

    The Yellow Torture sock is really lovely though. What’s the pattern?
    Don’t you hate when your knits turn against you? After all you’ve done for them. But don’t worry. They’ll come running back whispering promises.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  13. * olga says:

    it’s that evil toe up thingy you keep tryin to do. Come back to tried and true cuff down.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  14. * Kelly says:

    It made my stomach hurt when I read you ripped back all your Friday progress on your Yellow Torture Socks. Ach. And the shawl. Ach again. At least you didn’t have much time invested in the toe of your Toe Up sock…but still. Ach.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  15. * Kelly says:

    It made my stomach hurt when I read you ripped back all your Friday progress on your Yellow Torture Socks. Ach. And the shawl. Ach again. At least you didn’t have much time invested in the toe of your Toe Up sock…but still. Ach.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  16. * Cheryl S. says:

    Oh dear! It certainly hasn’t been a good week. And all that work for the shawl! Aaaargh! I feel your pain, but it’s probably all for the best.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  17. * Lorette says:

    Oops. That is some very pretty lace yarn, though!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

