Mystery House



Springtime for Baobabs

For much of the year, the baobab (Adansonia digitata) doesn’t have any leaves.  It’s dry where it lives in Africa, so most of the time the baobab just hangs out, dormant, water stored up in its gigantic trunk.  I do mean gigantic.  The girth of a baobab trunk can be over a hundred feet, and it’s like a water tank — it can hold thousands of gallons.

If you have a baobab in a pot (or in my case, two) that you started from seed, it’s nothing but a stick for a good portion of the year.  A stick that you keep out of the light and don’t water — not at all, not one drop — until spring comes.  Mine started to wake up in early June, and here they are!

Baobab Spring 1
Baobab Spring 2
True, this has nothing whatsoever to do with knitting.  And most of you couldn’t give a naked mole rat’s patootie about little sticks in pots.  Or about baobabs.  But I love them, and I’m pretty darned excited that mine are healthy and thriving and have survived another winter.  They’re still seedlings, only about two years old.  It will be years before they start to develop big, thick trunks, and I’m hoping they’ll stay healthy and do just that.  They’re fun to watch.  You know, in a slow sort of way.  Not all watching has to be fast.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lydee says:

    That’s cool. Good feelings when the bare sticks show signs of life, I’m sure.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Cheryl S. says:

    A Baobab tree! How cool!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Kitt says:

    Good things come to those who wait!
    (You could put a Little Prince figurine under it: http://www.i-magier.com/dyn/img_produits/apercu_327.jpg )

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  4. * cursingmama says:

    First:
    This line of yours caused a bit of an accident involving a sip of water & my keyboard “And most of you couldn’t give a naked mole rat’s patootie about little sticks in pots”
    Second:
    I imagine your stick watching is a lot like my family watching my progress on socks 😉

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Kelly says:

    I like that. “Not all watching has to be fast.” I really like that.
    Where does one get Baobab seeds or seedlings?

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Kelly says:

    Oh, and one more totally unrelated-to-your-post comment. I was just looking at your picture of Dr. Evil (again), and I think I figured out why I like him so much: I love how the hairs grow in different directions on his chest. I love it when dogs have chest cowlicks!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Chris says:

    They are really cool trees.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Jeanice says:

    I am wondering how you came to acquire such an interesting plant.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  9. * bezzie says:

    I like sticks in pots! I’ve only read of these trees, I didn’t realize you could have them potted.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Setembrina says:

    That is a pretty cool plant. I have never heard of that one, then again Africa has more plants than a person can shake a stick at. 😉

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  11. * bopp says:

    Ahhhh another baobab lover …. mine is 4 years old just dropping ist leaves for the coming winter.
    view it at http://exogarden.nl/forum/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=821

    Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

