Mystery House



Bourbon Chocolate Pecan Pie

This past weekend was a festive one at Chez Mystery.  My brother and his girlfriend were in town, and that always means cooking.  Lots and lots of cooking.  Eating, drinking and hilarity, too, of course, but it all starts with the cooking.

Inspired by goodies acquired during our recent drive through Georgia — pecans, and grits stoneground at a traditional mill — I decided on a Southern menu for Saturday’s bacchanal.  Bourbon slushes; sweet potato chips with caramelized onion dip; shrimp & grits (Ever had that?  It’s to die for.); a salad of watercress, endive, caramelized apples, walnuts and blue cheese; and fried okra.  There was dessert, too, as if we weren’t stuffed enough.

Plain old pecan pie is delicious, but it can be so stickily, cloyingly sweet that I decided to try something a little different.  And what’s better to cut sticky sweetness than bourbon?  Okay, perhaps a touch of dark chocolate.  This recipe has them both.

I only followed the recipe for the filling, since I am now a devotee of Christopher Kimball’s vodka crust.  It’s utterly foolproof — trust me on this.  Pie crust has always been the thing I’ve feared most in the kitchen, and I never could get it precisely right.  This recipe works.

So, how was the pie, you ask?

Pecan Pie

Most of it was wiped out instantly.  Big hit.  The little bit that was left made a good reward for dealing with this the next day:

Sink of Dishes 2
The recipe is worth making even if you don’t have a gigantic mess looming over you (Truly, this kitchen disaster was world class–one of our better messes.) and can’t think of any reasons why you deserve a reward.  It’s quick to put together, and easy enough a pie novice could make it.  This one’s going on the short list!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * deb says:

    I wouldn’t care about the mess at all – as long as I could keep eating that pie. Glad you had fun with the family!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * bezzie says:

    Ooo that pie looks divine! I wish I could just go to the neighbor’s house and borrow a few tablespoons of bourbon though. I don’t like the idea of extra liquor in the house given our circumstances..ha ha!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Ann says:

    Ohhh, you keep doing this to me! My “Recipes to Try” folder is just overflowing. And I’m trying to not eat so much. But this one – it just looks sooo good. How long can I hold out….

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Ann says:

    Ohhh, you keep doing this to me! My “Recipes to Try” folder is just overflowing. And I’m trying to not eat so much. But this one – it just looks sooo good. How long can I hold out….

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Carrie K says:

    That looks like a perfect Father’s Day dessert…..

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Chris says:

    Vodka pie crust and bourbon pie, oh my!

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  7. * olga says:

    I love pecan pie- I ate a whole one once. Yes,I agree that you really must stop showing such lusious things to us who are cooking challenged. It’s cruel.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Guinifer says:

    Yea, that’s a mess all right. Our cabin usually looks like that on a Saturday night (no dishwasher and usually 6-10 guests). I never get pie though.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

