Mystery House



Malabrigo Fuzz

Stonington Center

Whew.  That was work.  Doesn’t look like much, you say?

I decided that I wasn’t crazy about the center of the shawl.  There was one more square, a teensy tiny one which, frankly, looked a bit too floral to me.  Not squarish enough.  It was going to bug me.  And when something bugs me, it must go.

I unknit.  And unknit.  Note that I’m not saying “rip.”  No, I unknit, many rows, one stubborn stitch at a time.  Here’s what I learned about Malabrigo Lace:  Once knit, it behaves normally for a day or two, and then it sets free its fuzz.

Sticky fuzz.  It’s almost like unknitting mohair.  Even the wound ball of yarn has a center core of fuzz, and sometimes the strand of yarn doesn’t pull away from the ball easily.

Fuzzy Ball of Malabrigo

Do I still like the yarn?  Yes.  In fact, I love it.  I will buy more and knit with it quite happily.  But as with dear friends and relatives, I can adore a particular yarn while still being cognizant of its limitations.  Not every yarn has to behave in exactly the same manner to be good stuff to work with.  This is not the yarn I would choose for a difficult lace pattern, one in which I know I’ll be making lots of mistakes.  A yarn that isn’t single-ply would be a better choice for something like that.

Malabrigo Lace is perfect for Stonington; the subtle color variation is gorgeous with the pattern, and it’s easy to knit.  I only ran into trouble because I changed my mind about something long after I’d knit past it.  So that’s my lesson for the day:  be quicker about changing my mind when working with Malabrigo!  (Note that I didn’t say don’t change my mind.  That will not happen.)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cheryl S. says:

    I have been dying to try out some Malabrigo Lace. I’m worried that the fire at their warehouse might affect stock and prices.

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Mary Lou says:

    What, you have to rip when you knit? Who knew?

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * deb says:

    Good to know since I just dyed a bunch of it – which kind of felted it – and now plan to knit with it – which will then make it more fuzzier. Yikes…

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Guinifer says:

    I love the malabrigo lace too – even though I don’t knit lace! I used it for some socks and I love them!

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    It is gorgeous stuff. But good points to remember – thanks!

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Carrie K says:

    Stitch by stitch ripping back? Ouch. But it’s beautiful.

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  7. * del says:

    What a great attitude to have about the yarn. I can’t wait to get my hands on some!

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  8. * bezzie says:

    Uhg. I’ve unknit before. Oh the eyeball/brain power it takes! Glad to know Malabrigo lace is worth the unknitting though.

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  9. I’ve been there. Beautiful yarn, BTW. Love the color you’re using. I’m knitting lace right now myself but with Brooklyn Handspun this time around [used Malabrigo last time] and just got done tinking back 4 rows an hour ago. What a coincidence!

    Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

