Mystery House



Ever Had a Bad Dream About a Yarn Shop?

I did, last night, about the shop I visited yesterday afternoon. I don’t often get to this shop because
it’s way on the other side of town from me, but we were nearby because
the M.E. wanted to pay a visit to his favorite hobby store, so I couldn’t not stop in.
I won’t mention which one it was, because in reality nothing bad happened there.  It was just fine, and I found two gorgeous skeins of laceweight (more about that in a minute).

In my dream, I was at the counter in the same store.  The clerk rung up my yarn, and it was $237!  For two skeins!  I looked in the bag and discovered that they’d thrown in a bunch of stuff I hadn’t wanted.  Weird stuff.  Some of it wasn’t even yarn — like a stack of small, bad paintings on canvas board.  The receipt was full of mistakes.  I panicked, tried to get them to undo it, but people kept pushing in front of me in line and nobody seemed too inclined to fix my pesty little problem.  It was getting late, I tried to call my husband and tell him why I was still at the shop….and then I woke up.

Thank goodness that in real life, this gorgeousness was rung up properly:

Green Lacey Lamb
Lacey Lamb in a marvelous shade of chartreuse.  I love chartreuse, and don’t encounter it in the form of yarn often enough.  There was a shade card hanging next to the yarn display, and this color wasn’t on it.  I tried to ask the clerk which was more current, the yarn or the color chart, but she was rather clueless about the whole thing.  (Just clueless!  Not a nightmare!)

Then there was this:

Cooper Yarn

Of course, the color won’t come through properly on your monitor — it doesn’t on mine.  This is J. Knits Lace-A-Licious in a perfect, warm shade of camel.  I’ve been searching for this precise hue for a very special project, and I got lucky.  Camel-colored yarn is also incredibly hard to find.  This is huge skein of soft alpaca:  1200 yards.

If you can figure out why I had a yarn shop nightmare after scoring loot like this, you’re a better shrink than I am!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I only have a nightmare like that when I feel guilty about spending the money I did in the first place. Ummmmm …
    but I get over it!

    Posted 9 years ago
  2. * Guinifer says:

    Perhaps, because, the store itself is a disorganized mess? Nice people, good stuff, just a mess?

    Posted 9 years ago
  3. * Guinifer says:

    Perhaps, because, the store itself is a disorganized mess? Nice people, good stuff, just a mess?

    Posted 9 years ago
  4. * Lydee says:

    i dreamed i filled up the gas tank in my vehicle and it cost over $1000….maybe your dream is just your sub-conscience trying to make sense of our economy….

    Posted 9 years ago
  5. * deb says:

    I have nightmartes about another yarn store all the time.

    Posted 9 years ago
  6. * deb says:

    I have nightmartes about another yarn store all the time.

    Posted 9 years ago
  7. * Jeanne says:

    Perhaps the nightmare was your subconscious telling you you didn’t buy enough?

    Posted 9 years ago
  8. * Cheryl S. says:

    Oh, I like Lacey Lamb! I’ve never had a nightmare about a yarn shop, but now that you’ve mentioned it, I probably will!

    Posted 9 years ago
  9. * Chris says:

    I think Guinifer’s on to something!

    Posted 9 years ago
  10. * Chris says:

    I think Guinifer’s on to something!

    Posted 9 years ago
  11. * olga says:

    Hmmm, I think you have a deep seated fear of…the number 5. Yes, just avoid that number in the future. You can send my fee of 300.00 in check or money order.

    Posted 9 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

