Mystery House



Progress for an April Monday

Noro Sock One Done

T.S. Eliot was right.  April?  Totally perverse.  One foot in a new wool sock, the other one all pedicured for spring and wishing it had a sock.  Saturday morning the grass was covered with snow, Sunday it was green again.  But it’s still cold.  What’s next, ninety degrees and a plague of tropical frogs?

My first finished Noro sock is a very happy thing, despite the silly weather.  My foot loves it.  (The other foot really is very jealous.)  All you Noro sock yarn naysayers and doubters?  Keep it up.  That will leave more Noro for me — I love it, and it feels great on my foot, not unlike Opal, which makes some of my favorite socks.  But you’d hate it, I know you would.

Stonington Start

Ground has been broken on my Stonington Shawl.  Looks rather like a butterfly there, doesn’t it?  This, I think, will be a fun one.  I’m sure it will flap those delicate wings and fly on by once I get into the rhythm of the pattern.  Of course as I say that, I have a mistake to take out.  I always do this with lace.  No matter how carefully I start, or how easy the pattern is, I goof it up and have to rip it out several times before I hit a groove.  Don’t know why.

What about my other lace shawl?  Well, I’m within just a few rows of finishing the first side.  I’ll take a photo when this half is done.  Tonight, though, I’m starting that second sock.  I know better than to trust April.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Ann says:

    I already have startitis really bad and you’re just making it worse! I have the Noro sock yarn and it’s been begging to be cast on. I have the pattern for that shawl and even have yarn that I could use in the stash. Must. Be. Strong.

    Posted 9 years ago
  2. * Jeanice says:

    Pretty sock, pretty toes. Silly April, silly snow! (This is my Monday morning attempt at poetry.) You like?

    Posted 9 years ago
  3. * deb says:

    I’ve worn mine twice already!

    Posted 9 years ago
  4. * deb says:

    I’ve worn mine twice already!

    Posted 9 years ago
  5. * cursingmama says:

    I hate frogs, so I’m hoping you knocked real hard on wood.

    Posted 9 years ago
  6. * Guinifer says:

    Your socks are really very pretty – but the Noro yarn is on my yuk list, and I think it will stay that way until I have recovered from the trauma that is the Noro Yarn Barf. I will definitely say NAY!

    Posted 9 years ago
  7. * Jeanne says:

    Pretty sock. Too bad the yarn is such a pain to knit with. I got a pedicure a couple of weeks ago that has only seen the light of day once, I think.

    Posted 9 years ago
  8. * Chris says:

    Although the sock is pretty, I’m also becoming more and more sure that the Noro sock yarn would drive me insane(r).

    Posted 9 years ago
  9. * Chris says:

    Although the sock is pretty, I’m also becoming more and more sure that the Noro sock yarn would drive me insane(r).

    Posted 9 years ago
  10. * del says:

    You’re not fooling me, even though I haven’t tried the Noro sock yarn yet. Only because we’re budgeting over here. The first chance I get, some Noro sock yarn is coming my way. I’ll flip you for it. 😉
    Beautiful beginning to the shawl…I can’t tell you how many times I’ve restarted lace, which is probably the worst yarn to have to frog.

    Posted 9 years ago
  11. * bezzie says:

    Oh that sock looks great–I’m tempted to cast on some NOro socks, but by the time I finish them it will be July and I HAVE to wear my socks as soon as I finish them!

    Posted 9 years ago
  12. * bezzie says:

    Oh that sock looks great–I’m tempted to cast on some NOro socks, but by the time I finish them it will be July and I HAVE to wear my socks as soon as I finish them!

    Posted 9 years ago
  13. * olga says:

    I tried to comment yesterday- but blogger hates me.
    Anyhoo- love the crazy red toes-so cute! Ahh Nero,crazy men with violins…oh, you mean Noro! my bad.

    Posted 9 years ago
  14. * ragan says:

    The sock and the shawl both look great. Hahaha. I had to laugh about the weather. My brother was out in his yard with shorts and a t-shirt SNOW-BLOWING the big piles of snow out of his yard (because it was 60 that day…but forecast said more snow).
    :o)
    I hope that spring comes for REAL, REALLY SOON.

    Posted 9 years ago
  15. * ragan says:

    The sock and the shawl both look great. Hahaha. I had to laugh about the weather. My brother was out in his yard with shorts and a t-shirt SNOW-BLOWING the big piles of snow out of his yard (because it was 60 that day…but forecast said more snow).
    :o)
    I hope that spring comes for REAL, REALLY SOON.

    Posted 9 years ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

