Mystery House



Grilled Monkfish

Monkfish 1

Friday already?  Again?  I’m not sure how this happened.  I suppose you’ll want to know what we’ve been eating at Chez Mystery this week, and the answer is that we’ve kept it simple.  Lots going on, not in the mood to get silly in the kitchen.  Grilling season’s officially open, and we love grilling season.  So let’s cut to the chase–time’s a’wastin!

Go buy some monkfish.  That’s probably the hardest part of this recipe, finding monkfish and paying for it.  Trust me, you’ll be a lot more excited about buying it if you have only two people to feed.

So, what to do with monkfish?  Funny looking stuff.  No, I didn’t take pictures of the prep.  I told you we were in a hurry.  As I’ve mentioned before, when I don’t know what to do with something, I put my trust in Bittman.  Hasn’t failed me yet.  I knew he’d tell me how to prep the fish and exactly how long to cook it, and he did.

You want to carefully remove the gray membrane from the fish.  Then oil it up, season it with salt and pepper, slap it in a grill basket, and hustle it on outside.  Grill it for precisely ten minutes on high heat (the M.E. had two burners going), five minutes on each side.

In the meantime (it’s best if someone else inside the house is “meantime”), saute some chopped garlic in butter.  Lots of butter.  Don’t be shy with it.  When the garlic is starting to turn golden, squeeze half a lemon (or more) into the pan and swish it around.  Sauce is done.  Pour it into ramekins.

Hopefully,  you’ve been steaming a massive pile of spinach, and roasting some cute little fingerling potatoes while all this has been going on.  Because they’re great with the fish.  And the fish?  Fantastic.  Dip it in the sauce.  You’ll be so happy, you might even forget this week has gone too fast…  Nah.  You won’t forget.  But it’s good.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeanne says:

    Forgot my Friday rule. Fortunately fish doesn’t do much for me. The potatoes look wonderful!

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Amy says:

    That looks so good. I’ve never had monkfish.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    That looks so good. I’ve never had monkfish.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * bezzie says:

    It looks good. I prefer nuncod myself. Or perhaps a nice grilled priestpike.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Chris says:

    Wait, am I grilling the membrane or the fish?! 😉

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Guinifer says:

    Those potatoes look delicious. I’m almost caught up to your sock!

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Lisa says:

    Mmmm, monkfish. I tried to get some a few weeks ago and they didn’t have any — maybe tomorrow.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  8. * ragan says:

    Never had it before…it is an ugly thing before cooked…looks great on your plate though. Yum.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

