Mystery House



Seafood Newburg

Bread.  Remember Bread?  Well, I hadn’t thought about them in years, either, and was suffering no ill effects as a result.  But I became entranced recently with the idea of revisiting my oldest cookbooks, and by that I mean cookbooks I had as a child.  (Bear with me, this will all come together in a moment.)

I was the kid who got really, really excited about those Scholastic book order forms we used to get in school.  The kid who, on book delivery day, received a stack of at least ten books while all the normal kids got one or two or none.  Everyone stared at me–and I hate being stared at–but nevertheless, book delivery days were the highlights of the school year.  And in case you ever paged through one of those old book lists and wondered what kid would be weird enough to buy the cookbooks–yes, it was me.

At least one of those cookbooks somehow, sadly, vanished into the black hole of moving boxes and basements and Lord knows where, but I still have my copy of Cool Cooking, by Roberta Ashley.

It’s soooo 70’s.  1972, to be precise.

Cool Cooking Cover

Recipes of your favorite rock stars for only 75 cents!  Never mind that I hadn’t (and still haven’t) heard of half the people in the book and that I thought (yes even though I was but a nerdy adolescent way back then) that it had a rather dorky vibe.  It was a cookbook.  I had to have it and I spent hours reading it.  Now, I did cook from most of my old cookbooks, but I don’t remember making anything from this one.  Time to remedy that.

Some of the recipes are amusing.  George Harrison’s Peanut Butter & Banana Sandwiches!  Janis Ian’s Chinese Salad (made with French dressing)!  Quite a few also reflect the fact that at earlier points in our culinary history, most Americans and Europeans didn’t have much of a palate for spices.  The book offers Tom Jones’s wife’s recipe for lamb curry.  Ooh, I thought.  Curry!  Tom Jones! Then I read the ingredients.  To two pounds of lamb, you add a pinch of curry powder.  A pinch.  This would not do.  Sorry, Tom.

I dug further.  My consultant, the M.E., had a look at the book also and thought he might be able to stand the recipe for Seafood Newburg.  By.….(finally, I know you’ve been waiting)…..Bread.  I quote:  “After the mini-tours Bread goes home to relax, and sometimes the musicians give parties.  A dish they all like is a shellfish casserole.”

It may be a bit of fantasy on the part of the writer, the notion that a group of early 1970’s musicians had parties where they all sat around eating creamed seafood on patty shells.  But here goes.  You know I’ve adapted it.

Seafood Newburg 1

Seafood Newburg, adapted from Cool Cooking (this version is for main courses for two people)

1 Tbsp. butter
a small handful of chopped onion
2 Tbsp. chopped parsley (curly or Italian, doesn’t matter)
1/2 green pepper, diced
4 oz. white mushrooms, quartered
1 Tbsp. flour
1 c. half & half
2 c. king crab, in bite-sized pieces (or any kind of shellfish you like)
1 egg yolk
s & p
cayenne pepper
Hungarian paprika
nutmeg (a Tom-Jones-curry-sized amount)

Melt butter in non-stick skillet.  Saute onion and green pepper until just starting to brown.  Add mushrooms, salt, pepper and spices to taste, cover, and cook on low until mushrooms are nearly done.

Blend in flour and gradually stir in half & half.  Cook, stirring, until mixture is thickened and smooth.  Add parsley and crab, and cook until heated through.

Beat egg yolk and stir a little of the hot cream sauce into it, then stir egg mixture into seafood mixture.  Cook about one minute more, until nicely thickened.  Do not let it boil.

Serve immediately.  You could serve this on toast or on dainty little patty shells to get the full 1970’s post-concert tour experience, but in honor of the original contributors, and because I’d just baked, of course we ate it with bread.  Heh.

Seafood Newburg 2

The verdict?  Surprisingly, delightfully good.  The M.E. was prepared to suffer through this one for the sake of my need to experiment, but he wound up loving it.  I’ll definitely make it again.  But, you ask, what about our choice of dinner music?

Nope.  Not going that far.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bezzie says:

    Mmm..looks delish.
    I love me some George Harrison, but Elvis is the king of peanut butter and banana sandwiches, sorry!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    What a funny cookbook!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Chris says:

    What a funny cookbook!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  4. * olga says:

    huh, I don’t remember any cook books in those book orders- are you surprized? I do remember how happy I was when they came in, like getting presents at school. My kids still bring those home but now they are so darn expensive! And no, no cookbooks. I guess Miley’s ad team-machine hasn’t thought that up yet!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Ann says:

    Ohhh, Bread! I’ve got them on my ipod. We’ll have to try the recipe and play their music in the background. One of the Compadre’s favorite songs of all time is If by Bread! Oh, and the recipe sounds delicious too.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Ann says:

    Ohhh, Bread! I’ve got them on my ipod. We’ll have to try the recipe and play their music in the background. One of the Compadre’s favorite songs of all time is If by Bread! Oh, and the recipe sounds delicious too.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Ruth says:

    I just saw a VH1 Classics episode a couple months ago and they did a piece on Bread (then and now); it was actually very interesting.
    THIS recipe shall be passed on to the chef – that looks WONDERFUL!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Master Engineer says:

    A cookbook for 75 cents — and a fine investment it was! Comfort food at its finest.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Master Engineer says:

    A cookbook for 75 cents — and a fine investment it was! Comfort food at its finest.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Amy says:

    If a picture paints a thousand words…

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  11. * Wendy says:

    I can totally understand your need for Scholastic Book Orders. I’m a teacher and I’m still drawn to being the ‘kid with the most books’ each time we order. ha!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  12. * Wendy says:

    I can totally understand your need for Scholastic Book Orders. I’m a teacher and I’m still drawn to being the ‘kid with the most books’ each time we order. ha!

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  13. * Carrie K says:

    That reminds me, I don’t have any David Gates on my iPhone. Of course all the musicians sat around eating seafood casseroles! And strumming guitars. And braiding each other’s hair while having pillowfights.
    Looks yummy though.
    I LOVED Scholastic Books! I used to get a stack of them too. No cookbooks that I recall though….

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  14. * Cheryl S. says:

    Looks yummy… but I’m not sure I could make Seafood Newburg without some sherry. It would probably be against my principles.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  15. * Cheryl S. says:

    Looks yummy… but I’m not sure I could make Seafood Newburg without some sherry. It would probably be against my principles.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  16. * Kitt says:

    Awwww, Bread! God how I loved them. Good to know they had good taste in food.
    I wish I had them on my iPod now.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  17. * lisa says:

    Oh, I loved those Scholastic order forms. So full of promise.
    That’s one helluva cool book. Kind of a precursor to this one, which is on my wishlist: I Like Food, Food Tastes Good: In the Kitchen With Your Favorite Bands (durn, can’t do a hyperlink in typepad? — Oh well, here: http://www.amazon.com/LIKE-FOOD-TASTES-GOOD-FAVORITE/dp/1401308740/ref=wl_it_dp?ie=UTF8&coliid=II45ZO609R478&colid=ILDZ8JSWNUOL). Although I bet Bread isn’t in it.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  18. * lisa says:

    Oh, I loved those Scholastic order forms. So full of promise.
    That’s one helluva cool book. Kind of a precursor to this one, which is on my wishlist: I Like Food, Food Tastes Good: In the Kitchen With Your Favorite Bands (durn, can’t do a hyperlink in typepad? — Oh well, here: http://www.amazon.com/LIKE-FOOD-TASTES-GOOD-FAVORITE/dp/1401308740/ref=wl_it_dp?ie=UTF8&coliid=II45ZO609R478&colid=ILDZ8JSWNUOL). Although I bet Bread isn’t in it.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  19. * Carolyn says:

    Loved those Scholastic book sales, too. I thought DS would have to miss out on that perk of childhood as we homeschool but Scholastic offers homeschoolers the opportunity, too.
    The only cookbook I remember ordering from Scholastic is the Peanuts Cook Book (circa 1969), priced at 60 cents according to the cover. Lucy’s Lemon Squares are DH’s favorite and Schroeder’s Chocolate Sauce (with honey) fits into today’s cooking with no adjustments needed. Some of the other recipes aren’t quite so useful…

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  20. * Carolyn says:

    Loved those Scholastic book sales, too. I thought DS would have to miss out on that perk of childhood as we homeschool but Scholastic offers homeschoolers the opportunity, too.
    The only cookbook I remember ordering from Scholastic is the Peanuts Cook Book (circa 1969), priced at 60 cents according to the cover. Lucy’s Lemon Squares are DH’s favorite and Schroeder’s Chocolate Sauce (with honey) fits into today’s cooking with no adjustments needed. Some of the other recipes aren’t quite so useful…

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  21. * kitkatknit says:

    My parents would let me spend what ever amount I wanted on Scholastic Book Club. It’s no wonder that my knitting book collection is gigantic!!1 Look what they started. All my books were early to mid-60’s vintage. My favorite? The Search for Planet X. http://www.biblio.com/details.php?dcx=86812077&aid=frg Sad now that Planet X is no longer a planet. Sigh.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  22. * kmkat says:

    I don’t think we had book orders at school back in The Stone Age when I was a kid, but I do believe I was a member of the Scholastic Book Club and got a nice hardcover book every month. My older son, however, was, like you, the kid with the most books. #2 son always went for the gimmicky things – book with toy, toy with book, etc.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago
  23. * kmkat says:

    I don’t think we had book orders at school back in The Stone Age when I was a kid, but I do believe I was a member of the Scholastic Book Club and got a nice hardcover book every month. My older son, however, was, like you, the kid with the most books. #2 son always went for the gimmicky things – book with toy, toy with book, etc.

    Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

