Mystery House



Easter Beauty

Mom's Scarf

Pretty scarf, yes?  It’s the Basketweave Scarf (Ravelry link here), knit with very soft and wonderful Frog Tree merino.  The color is much deeper than it appears in that photo.  Yes, it’s pretty, and will be lovely to wear.  But this is the truly beautiful thing:

Mom Knitting 3

That’s my mom.

Mom is a knitter from way back.  I always remember knitting bags stashed around the house, and we used to love going to yarn shops together.  At some point–it may have been in the late 1980’s–she stopped.  I’m not sure why.  I’m not sure if she knows why, either.  But when she hinted around that she was thinking about it again, I gave her yarn and scarf patterns for Christmas.  She’s now a good three feet into her scarf, loves the pattern, and is already thinking about the next one she wants to make.

The best part is that she’s rediscovered how good knitting is for the mind, body and soul.  She brought her knitting along when she came over for Easter dinner, so that the M.E. and I could see it.  I’m so happy, and I’m thinking about how pretty she’s going to look wrapped in her new scarf next winter.  I can’t imagine a more beautiful sight.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Guinifer says:

    Really. You’re mom does have beautiful hands. I used to work in a nursing home as a teenager, and it was one thing I always appreciated. The women who were still present in mind, were so gentle with their beautiful hands, and so appreciative.
    (She’s got some pretty needles going too.)

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Connie says:

    I think my mom stopped knitting in the ’80s too. The scarf looks great – maybe you can get her onto the sock thing?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * olga says:

    must be that generation, my mom stopped cold turkey in the 70’s and hasn’t knit a thing since, and claims she ‘forgot’ how too.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Carrie K says:

    Go, Mom! That’s a beautiful scarf.
    (Am not looking at delicious pictures on prior posts as I’m pretty sure all there is left to eat here at work now is chicken broth and canned corn.)

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * carol Roskos says:

    That is a precious picture.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * del says:

    That’s so wonderful that your mom rediscovered knitting. How exciting!
    Gorgeous scarf & I LOVE the color.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * kmkat says:

    Awww.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

