Mystery House



Wild Rice & Pecan Salad

This one’s so easy that it’s really all about the shopping.  I clipped the recipe from the newspaper years ago, and finally decided to try it.  (Heavily adapted, that is.)  The two main ingredients should be the best that you can find.

Hand-harvested wild rice.

Wild Rice Bag

I buy mine from the good folks at NorthlandHere’s a picture of the owner.  You won’t find a friendlier, more helpful guy.  He’ll make you feel welcome the moment you set foot in his wonderful store (which, by the way, is right next door to Maria’s, which serves amazing corn pancakes.  I kid you not.  I would not joke about something as important as corn pancakes.)

Andouille sausage

Sausage Cooking

from Kramarczuk’s (yeah, Amy, I spelled it right!).  You could use another kind of sausage.  The original recipe calls for either duck, boar or venison.  I didn’t happen to have any of those, but I did have andouille.  Kramarczuk’s makes such fabulous sausage that it’s impossible to walk in the door without drooling.

So, cook the wild rice.  If you do buy the hand-harvested kind (which is well worth the price), you’ll need to give it a good rinse in several changes of water.  It has the most marvelous aroma, even before you start cooking it.  Nutty and toasty and oooh.  It’ll perfume your house.  For dinner-sized portions for the two of us, I cooked 1/2 cup.

Wild Rice

Slice the sausage and cook it. One link per person.

Chop up a scallion or two and toast some pecan halves.  I don’t chop them, because I love the way they look whole.

Toss the cooked rice, cooked sausage, scallions and pecans together in a bowl.  Make a dressing out of walnut oil, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, and thyme.  (I can’t remember the last time I measured ingredients for vinaigrette–wing it.)

Serve on a bed of lettuce.

Wild Rice 1

Popovers are nice with this.  I tried the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe, simply because she has a different theory of popovers than the last recipe I made, and I was curious about it.  She starts hers in a hot oven and a hot pan.  Marion Cunningham starts hers in a cold oven and a cold pan.

Popovers

I’ll be damned if this recipe didn’t work better and pop up higher, even after I cut it down from 12 to six because I only have one popover pan (yes, folks, I cut an egg in half!) and got all lazy and didn’t sift my flour.  I mean, I hate to say that because Marion is amazing, the Queen of Baking Reliability, but her popovers never quite worked for me.

Did we like this?  Why yes, we did.  The salad was delicious–the wild rice was nutty and wonderful and the sausage was scrumptious–and the popovers were just right.  I couldn’t have asked for an easier dinner.  Only two things to cut up, and it doesn’t use many pans.  Try this when you want something simple and comforting, and if you do, please support the people who are growing the real deal and buy your rice from Northland!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * deb says:

    You lost me with the sausage! Sorry but I like popovers and wild rice a lot!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Jeanice says:

    That salad looks wonderful! I love wild rice dishes so I can just imagine how flavorful the salad would be with pecans…love pecans…pecan pie….mmmmmmm.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Jeanice says:

    That salad looks wonderful! I love wild rice dishes so I can just imagine how flavorful the salad would be with pecans…love pecans…pecan pie….mmmmmmm.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Kitt says:

    Gorgeous popovers! Want one NOW.
    The rice and sausage look yummy, too.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  5. * olga says:

    Do you think the pop overs will work in a muffin pan? I am a trog and have no ‘fancy’ pop over pans. But that recipe sounds pretty fool proof. heh, you might make me a chef yet!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Candy says:

    Thanks so much for this recipe! I’ve have been craving wild rice lately. I cannot get enough. We will be having this for dinner tonight.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  7. Popovers! I haven’t had any good ones since I was in college (the restaurant has since then closed). Yours look great; I’ll have to remember you used the BC’s recipe.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  8. Popovers! I haven’t had any good ones since I was in college (the restaurant has since then closed). Yours look great; I’ll have to remember you used the BC’s recipe.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  9. * bezzie says:

    That salad looks divine! Sausage and rice? How can you go wrong!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  10. * Jeanne says:

    Drat. Forgot my rule about not visiting Miss T before lunch on Fridays. Drool.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  11. * Jeanne says:

    Drat. Forgot my rule about not visiting Miss T before lunch on Fridays. Drool.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  12. * Annie says:

    Thank you for the wild rice source! I was looking for some last weekend, and all I could find was “Minnesota cultivated wild rice”. I refused to buy it.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  13. * Chris says:

    Looks like it was tasty!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  14. * Chris says:

    Looks like it was tasty!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  15. * carol Roskos says:

    Oooo, that looks good!

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  16. * cursingmama says:

    Have always done my popovers with the hot oven/ hot pan theory & they always work wonderfully – Not sure if the source was Betty Crocker, but that is the recipe I always use.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  17. * kmkat says:

    Dale-Harriet was telling me about real, Indian-harvested wild rice and how much better it is. Now I feel really, really guilty about having bought the cheaper paddy-grown stuff for several years. Back to the real thing for me. Thanks for the links to Northland and Maria’s; I think that’s where I’ll take #1 son for breakfast/lunch when he flies home from Mexico. He will love it.

    Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  18. * kate says:

    Are popovers the same as Yorkshire Puddings? They sure look the same, and we cook them in hot oil/hot pan as well.
    The rice (with perhaps a different sausage for me) looks delish, but hubby wouldn’t go for it, he is not a fan of the wild rice. Or nuts in his main dishes. Sigh.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  19. * kate says:

    Are popovers the same as Yorkshire Puddings? They sure look the same, and we cook them in hot oil/hot pan as well.
    The rice (with perhaps a different sausage for me) looks delish, but hubby wouldn’t go for it, he is not a fan of the wild rice. Or nuts in his main dishes. Sigh.

    Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

