Mystery House



The Yellow Sock of Doom Rides Again

I don’t like this pattern.  (Sorry, Ravelry link.  Here’s one of my posts from last summer, when I was working on the first one.  Serpentine Socks.)

I like the finished sock all right, and I like the yarn, but the knitting?  Feh.  This is the sock which alerted me to the fact that I’m not wild about cables on socks.  Cables on sweaters are fun.  Cables on socks are not.  Cables every three rows?  The worst.  Cables that change directions all the time, so they’re easy to screw up?  The worsty-worst.

But one sock was done, and I’d be damned if the other one was going to haunt me for the rest of my life, whispering insults at me with a small, evil sock-UFO voice.  Last night, I started the second sock.  Finished the short row toe, and it’s not too bad of a toe if I do say so myself.  At least, it’s a toe I don’t have to rip out and start over, and with this sock that’s saying something.

Second Yellow Doom Sock Toe

I figure I can keep this in my sock bag and take it along when I go to knit with friends.  The distraction of a good chat might distract me from how much I hate this stupid sock.  Or, it could just cause me to make more mistakes and never be done with the blasted thing.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * olga says:

    I went and looked at the other one, it looks purty! Maybe this one will go easier.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * deb says:

    Look for the one-legged man??

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Jeanne says:

    Why don’t you skip knitting the second sock, and call the first an ipod cozy or something like that?

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * bellamoden says:

    You’ll conquer it! I know you will.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Deb says:

    Oh, look at that non-bright sock yarn you have. 😉
    The sock would have been thrown into my ‘sock drawer of shame’ and sat there for at least six months…
    I think that cables every third row look kinda squooshed together, too, unless you’re knitting sport/dk weight socks or heavier.

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * del says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of cabling. But they’re pretty socks.
    Cool new look, too!

    Posted 9 years, 8 months ago


Comments are not allowed at this time.

